CG Boost Challenge - Discovered In Ice 01 - Sketching

in #art4 years ago (edited)

1583925348.jfif

Another post, another challenge. This time were bouncing with the CG Boost guys to create an image related to discoveries made in ice... It reads:

"In the 19th and 20th century many expeditions were made to the white hell of the northern and southern poles of Earth. Brave explorers they were, and though they tried to push the boundaries of human knowledge to the end, not few lost their lives. One wonders what they discovered in the eternal ice, once they set out, never to return? Ancient civilizations covered in several meters of ice and snow? Creatures unimaginable? Now it’s all up to your imagination!"

So I started it all out by making small drawings but could not make it work. So I dived directly in Blender to sketch out and that was the best approach. See a timelapse here:

DiscoveredInIce_01.jpg

I went for something like this: the explorers have reached a cave only to found some sort of a giant frozen in ice with someone holding onto his face. (I'm working out the story)

DiscoveredInIce_02.jpg

The scene I'm currently working in only have a bright exterior light that passes through the outter case of the scene which is made of ice. I've placed a few small lights to get the silhouette of the foreground characters.

DiscoveredInIce_03.jpg

I will now continue to further the composition a bit but mostly, I'll search for images that will help me in the design of the scene.

DiscoveredInIce_04.jpg

Tell me which of these you prefer in the comments.

Peace out!

#art #blender #3d #life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25