Here be - more - dragons and a workflow descriptionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

I do not own a wacom or similar digital painting device (yet) so I have to make do with drawing on paper and postprocessing them in Gimp

It is a fairly decent workflow but it does annoy me a bit to have to use a mouse to draw with. I am definitely going to invest in some kind of digital device as soon as money allows. Until then here is a look into the workflow I use to go from sketch to - well something slightly more colorful.

My initial drawn dragon is a very old drawing (20 -30 years) on checkered paper (the stuff used for math assignments)


I clean up the drawing using select by color tools because the pencil is mostly gray and the paperlines are bluish.


it works ok, but it is still tedious work


I then layer the drawing by adding an alpha channel and a background layer. This gives me a top layer with just the linedrawing.
Even if I mess up a bit with the colors that I place underneath it will still look fairly crisp, thus sparing me the bother of going over it pixel by pixel (Depending on the context I might have to do this anyway but it is still easier with the lines to guide me)


Now comes the quickest part. I lasso the areas of interest (e.g. wings or body) and put on a gradient. this gives me some nice areas of consistent coloring without looking too flat. The gradient can be very subtle , it will still work fine. Some of it can be hard to get a good lasso on so I just draw it by hand.

final step is addding some texture. I use a textured brush. For this one I found a nice one that looked a bit like scales and just splashed it on where I wanted highlights. Then on with the eraser again and a bit of blurring to remove the aliasing. and I have a good basis. Now would probably be the time where I would touch it up on a wacom or similar but since I dont have it I stop here.

My previous dragon drawing is here. it is made in very much the same way.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

I strongly suggest Krita for things like this.
Krita is a drawing programming written by and for artists.

It even has tools that will trace your hand drawing, that works ok.
I really love it.

yeah @katharsisdrill has rrecommended it.some day i will have to try it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76