"Stand Out From The Ordinary"....ART, HEART AND SOUL.......No. 18......Meditative Wisdom Through Sustainable Art!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

When I moved to Texas 20 years ago I was surprised to find all the woman who had the name "Lori" and wore their long thick mane of blonde hair pulled back in a pony tail.

Several days ago I rode through a local college campus.  The streets were filled with women still donning their blonde pony tails, now accented with their cut-off jean short shorts or short skirts with cowboy boots.  They all had perfect, white straight toothed smiles, bronzed skin and long manicured (likely fake) fingernails--almost ALL of them!


I haven't been to the grocery store in years, but I recall the check out stand magazine rack pushing all the latest trends, preying on those who desire to fit in and be on top of their socially acceptable, fashionable game.  It's the "get on the bandwagon" kind of suggestion that calls to those who want to be in the "in" crowd.  Obviously this marketing and peer pressure is successful, as there are many clones walking around in perfect step with what's "hot".



It's pretty rare these days in main stream (America, anyway) to find people who have their own sense of style, a vivid imagination or an expression of self all their own.  The indoctrination not only creates a desire to look alike, but to think alike, act alike, be appropriate and not stand out--otherwise you might be "weird"!!

Gratefully I hang out with some real shakers and movers at the @gardenofeden, who rethink everything -- who are not afraid to dress like they're alive, to be themselves from the inside out, express themselves in whatever way speaks to their soul, and not only comfortable, but bold about standing out from the ordinary.  The creative types are my kinda people!!

As an artist there is nothing more enjoyable than getting in touch with that deep dark "me" that exists within, and letting it flow out to the surface.  It won't look like you~often it won't even look like me!  I don't even know what is "ordinary" as I live my life through inspired creation.  It's such a thrill as life never stands still, it's forever in potent transformation, and I get to experience things I've never seen or felt before.


This soul card I created with old magazines on recycled matte board.


I hope you also "Stand Out From the Ordinary".  
It's an incredible investment in the real you!!

BE YOURSELF!!




Here are a couple of my posts you may enjoy:

A taste of my creations: Turning Trash Into Treasure

An Invitation to Collaborate:  Collaborative Art Journey Invitation No. 22 - TANGLED WEBS WE WEAVE

Wisdom from the Soul: "Expressions" ..ART, HEART AND SOUL... No. 17

It All Comes Down to a Choice -- What Will you Choose?

Steemfest2 Lisbon - You'll Also Want To Get In On This

Winning My Plane Ticket to Steemfest2 from @theprophet0:  Giving Thanks for the Blessing


Thanks for being here!  Thanks for being you!



Sort:  

Very nice collages I'm a fan. I'll follow you because I love artists like you :)

Thanks for your comment @izbing. Artists are a special breed. Grateful to be hanging with them and with you!

الصور الحبيبية رائعة

"The granular images are wonder"! That's the translation I received.

Thanks for that @tohamy7.

The image impressed me

Thanks @tahomy!! It's pretty interesting how the images just come together all by themselves. It's like the words and images just jump onto the matte board and all I have to do is glue!! I appreciate your appreciation.

Thanks😊

thank you for sharing

Tis my pleasure indeed @enomujjass.

So true, I am currently trying to get my daughter back into her drawing, since starting high school she has fallen into the "I must be like everyone else" crowd. I'm hoping she realises life is to short to live like others, one must live for themselves!

My daughter was unschooled all her life. She chose to go to school from 7th to 9th grades and wrapped her life around the things that the school kids did. She experimented with sports, church, clothing and more. She became all the wiser for having experienced it as she went through it herself. She came out of all of that of her own choosing, with a grander perspective, a clear awareness of herself, and a more empowered attitude. She saw that going with the crowd served for some things, though ultimately chose again to do her own thing. Even when she chose to go to school she was doing her own thing, as it was her choice to go, not a mandate. Honoring our children's divine essence will give them space to freely be themselves.

Thanks for your comment @mumofmany. Great screen name BTW.

Thank you, I agree that all the things they find interesting and choose to experience add to who they become. Even as an adult I'm learning and discovering new things about the world and myself. Having to take that step back and let them independently learn who they are without influence is the hard part.

I find it ultimately comes down to challenging ourselves to look within and get out of their way. Guidance is wise as they cannot know all the factors, but its only beneficial if they are open to hearing some perspective.
Experimenting while young often gives rise to greater awareness and they become better equipped to make bigger decisions as they grow older. When they become responsible for their experience, they make smarter choices as they know their well-being falls on their own shoulders. Good job seeing the possibilities @mumofmany. It appears we have much to exchange. Blessings to you.

That's the dilemma, finding the balance. Knowing when to step aside and give them that freedom. Then hoping the choices they make and the experiences that follow do build them into a stronger individual, and not the opposite. It's a learning curve. Thank you for your insight, it's so nice to be able to share on here. To see things from another's perspective. To gain from other people's experiences.

Agreed @mumofmany. That's what we are all here for--otherwise it would be pointless to even make any posts at all!!

It is a balance. Continuing to give them information that will help them make great choices, talking about our own experiences, having open dialogue for sharing perspective, and not pushing our agenda on them, I believe are keys. Letting them know we are in their corner and supporting them to be the best they can be, especially through their experimentation, will go a long way in helping them be strong.

Great comment @mumofmany. One of my great passions is children and I often write posts about parenting. I thank you for being here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60