"Ithaqa" Comic Book Update #183 Editing Woes

in #art6 years ago

The_High_Priestess_10.jpg

So I don't want to jinx it, but the edits seem to be coming easier. Theresa and I still have to go over my changes to issue 1 to confirm if it's all doable, but the story is in a more exciting place now.

I think the inclusion of flash forwards(and to the side) have given me an interesting tool with which to develop the main character's backstories/motivations. In general I'm pretty amused that the reader is going into the future in order to learn about the character's pasts.

Cracking the edits in issue 1 were pretty rough for me. I was caught between wanting to improve the story, while dreading the idea of scrapping any of Theresa's art. Mostly I managed to address the narrative issues (brought to my attention by an interested publisher) by adding new pages and changing the dialogue, but there were some cuts too. I guess this is the comic book equivalent to a film reshoot. You don't want to do it because it takes time and money, plus it forces you to admit you didn't get it right the first time. I think that that has been one of the harder aspects of the rewrite to be honest. A feeling that I've wasted other people's precious time and effort.

The only thing there is to do, is to ensure that all that work was not in vain. Luckily, I've got an exceptional artist, a cast of characters I deeply care for, and an Elder God unlike anything you've ever seen. I intend to put them all to good use, and more importantly, on some goddamn bookshelves!

As I work through my edits for issue 2 I find that they're coming easier, and that they are less invasive to the existing art. I hope this trend continues, but for the first time in a month or so I don't feel a vice grip slowly squeezing my heart. I feel a way forward tugging me along again, and I really like the new pages.

We're not going to be putting out any new sequential art until the scripts are all finalized, but I still have 13 more inks from this issue to show you off at least. Plus we're working on a cover, which looks reaaalllly awesome, so look forward to that!

Anyway, good talking to you all again! .

I've set up an email grab at https://www.ithaqacomic.com/contact-us/

If you sign up there, I'll send you 8 pages of the comic, fully lettered!

Additionally, If you're new to this comic I strongly recommend you check out our instagram, as I'm currently uploading pages from issue 1-2 there every day (this is issue 3).

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist @la-fumettista) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sign up to buy the comic on our website: https://www.ithaqacomic.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Twitter: @IthaqaComic

Sort:  

Are you guys still trying to find a publisher or have you considered crowdfunding?

We're in a whichever happens first kinda mindset. We've had 2 publishers interested, but we're only seriously considering one of them.

I expect to crowdfund each issue after completing and releasing issue 1 for free, and hopefully build a big enough audience to either break even or catch a big publisher's eye.

I have been a bit reluctant to go ahead and create the crowd-funding for my first album. I made this pseudonym because I was tired of gallery owners, editors etc. so it is the way I will go. Together with the translators I have discussed doing a Steem fundraiser, but so many things have to be done - when you are your own publisher. Much easier just to make comics... :) and I have earned enough in Bitcoin donations to be able to wait for a while yet.

Wow! That's really cool, you're basically living the dream them. Your fans support your art enough to give you some breathing room

I have had the feeling that I live in a dream for a long time now :) The rise and fall of the bitcoin played a role too, I had some very devoted donors of that currency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13