Working on my Singularity Painting "Awakening"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I decided to add a house in the distance and am playing with some glowing colour.

may7robotthumbnail.jpg

Here is a bit more of it with the puppy licking her awake.

may7robot.jpg

I decided to work on the sketch more, adding the building and then to mess about with some oil pastel and chalk straight away rather than doing a second watercolour.

Original:

april15robosketch.jpg

And adding in the building, some more trees etc.

may7robotsketch.jpg

As I travel more into this world if my making a story line seems to be unfolding.

I love having a narrative in my head when I begin doing a series of paintings.

I suppose it is really from my own joy of writing little stories. I used to make up stories for my niece when she was young. I'd ask her to give me a character and a setting and then I'd go off on it for about an hour or so. She loved it.

When I was a child I often spent hours alone just imagining stories and drawing them out on the backs of these large sheets of paper.

My father would give me his giant desk calendars when they were finished, I mean they were huge, large enough that at five I could sit on the bottom half whilst drawing on the top.

I'd fill these with story lines. They had no rhyme or reason to the progression on the page. There was no hint at 'comic' style with boxes and narrative marched left to right in straight lines, that would have made sense of course.

Instead, I'd start something in the center of the page and then go off and do something else. I'd come back later and add something in the bottom corner and after a few days it would be a great mix of randomness but all in the same world or story line. I suppose, in some way I work that way now, only lots and lots of separate drawings with no rhyme or reason but under the umbrella of a story line, thus my love of doing series works.

This is in part because for as long as I can remember I have always viewed time as a sort of jumble. That is to say, not necessarily always seeing it as a progression from cradle to grave; a beginning middle and end.

It always seemed (and still does) that time has a sense of being malleable. That is to say, it is more a constant story line and the past and future are just as alive and accessible as the present, especially in the world of art and drawings. I suppose that just sounds the mad ramblings of an introverted artist and, well, I suppose that is a fairly accurate assessment as well.

I hope all have a lovely day and try to consider time as a great page filled up and you can look at any bit of it, the past bit isn't just folded away and put in a drawer.


If you like my work please upvote and feel free to resteem and by all means leave comments.


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Sort:  

Would you start to write the story related to the singularity woman?
I have a weird feelings of time. Sometimes I look at the past too much, sometimes I look at the future and whenever I am living the present I just don't think about it. Oh well, why should I?
I hope you have a lovely day too.

In a way I am writing it in pictoral form. When I am done (who knows when that will be) I'll have a body of work that will demonstrate a world imagined and then the viewer can decide how the story goes in their minds. This is one of the things I love most about art: the story. When I spend time in museums or galleries my mind is always piecing together little narratives to the paintings. This is probably why I am so driven to love works with figures and animals in, as they are great characters in a story.

it become more beautifulll , i'm watching steemit posts with my Mother she liked your work also <3

Thank you, that's so nice. Steemit the fun family adventure :)

The expression of the doggos are great and makes interesting contrast to the cyborg woman. It’s my first time seeing this picture but the house is definitely a good addition.

-upvoted-

Thank you. I've been building up the few sketches in this series, really making the paintings more rich with detail and environment.

i totally follow you and your painting skills going better to better. your talent really is amazing... well done donna

Thank you so much, you have an amazing talent as well @florian.art

Hey @donnadavisart, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 7th May. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server.

Here is a post that explains things:
https://steemit.com/competition/@nikflossus/the-26th-whaleshares-curation-show-featuring-sirlunchthehost

OH, I wonder if I missed this. I'm honored. I usually post and am active in the morning on Steem and then go unplugged for a big portion of the day.

That is completely okay! A lot of people sleep at this time. You did an amazing job and we all loved your post!

P.S You will get a bigger vote on your post. Most likely tomorrow

Thank you so much, I really appreciate any love for my art :)

You most defensively deserve it!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Love that vibrant color palette :)

Simply amazing!
I hope You win!!

Win? I guess winning at life? This isn't for a contest, but thanks anywya.

excellent art.

Well, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94