Finished Animal Piece killing two birds with one stone

in #art5 years ago

Here is the final piece of the little Rat piece I shared the other day.

dec14rats.jpg

I thought it'd be fun to show the final inking with the rat I shared yesterday coloured in while the rest is awating its colour.

dec14rats2.jpg

And I have yet to figure out how to do a proper time lapse video of process, so I will stick with animated gif. I think it still is fun to watch it fill in, but I am easily amused.

I was able to kill two birds with one stone with this piece.

And by that I mean that I was firstly inspired by our own @yidneth who has an affinity, nay a Love, for rats. The second bit of this task,or the "second bird one stone" was that I had a commision piece that wanted one of my animal pieces involving a tea party. I have done such pieces in the past and this client wanted any animal, my choosing, in that vein.

Of course I asked first if Rats were okay, as maybe not all are as akin to them as are we and @yidneth

But I was told as long as it is in my style and my sense of humour, they'd love it. And so there you go, Two Birds One Stone.

When one is as busy and adjusting to a new country any combination of tasks is always a boon.

As this was meant to be for someone, they wanted the option to have the image on other things as well as the original high res image for their own use. So, I used society6 (again my own site has taken a back burner so my production of such things are just easier on sites such as this.)

With a vertical image like this, sometimes I will do a repeat or arrange it differently to fit various things. Here I simply cropped bits of the image to fit certain things and in a way it really gives you more individual pieces.

Here we see it cropped in various ways.

dec14stuff1.jpg

I rather thought the two fat eating rats looked adorable on the phone skin alone. And the table top (yes furniture is available) really looks cute with the crop using three of the rats. In fact my client is getting this for her daughters room.

Here we see the entire image used on various things.

The shower curtains are always fun and I surprisingly do sell these often. I suppose it's a fun way to add art and deco all in one in the room in your house you are often the most 'brave' with colour and style.

dec14stuff2.jpg

I also like a vertical image like this when I can manage to fit it all the way round things like mugs and cups.

Here are the three sides of the tall glass thermal mug and it really fits rather cleverly, if I do say so myself.

If you are interested in any of my art on things, then please do pop into my shop. They are having various sales for the Christmas season, today I think it's 30% off and free shipping.

dec14mug.jpg

Well I started my day earlier today.

I am daily striving to contrive a sort of schedule for msyelf. This morning I planned to catch the bus early enough to get into town but not TOO early to have to ride with all the local school children.

This game of "avoid the school children" is an ongoing process for me. I think I am getting the right time to leave town and this morning was happy to find an early bus that was still just beyond 'school time'.

I am sticking with public transport at present, though the thought of eventually having a car here is still in my thoughts. I am going to let a car for a week and see how much it improves my life. I usually stay closer to London so it is easier to get in and out there, yet here in Canterbury it is a 2 hour train journey, so I have not as yet figured if that can be a feasible plan for my weeks.

I am in rush to plan that out, however, as my England time is an ongoing process and I'm happy to simply evolve with the whims of my own fancy.

I shall close here with a lovely thing I came upon yesterday when wandering about the city. A man working hard on this amazing chalk image on the sidewalk.

dec14chalkdrawing.jpg

I passed it this morning on my way into the cafe and it was all taped off with plastic and cardboard so he is still working away on it. We have had a lovely week of sun, but we are to get our rain this weekend, so I hope he can protect.

I really want to get a shot of it when it is finished before Nature and the English rain claims it as its own.

I hope all of you have a lovely day and find time to look about your town or city for the unusual moments that make life have a bit of sparkle.

Check out my other posts, if you like, and by all means upvote, resteem and yes leave comments!

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

These are adorable!!! I share Yidneth's love of rats, I had some as pets too, they are so underrated and make wonderful little friends!

Aren't they great pets @juliakponsford ! And they are fun to draw as well.

That artist is so dedicated, working on the pavement all day long. Mad respect for people like that, and the drawing already looks good too even if it's only showing a part of it so far.
                     
Rats in a tea party is a cute artwork. It also reminds me of Cinderella cartoon. Nicely done Donna :).

I'm hoping he keeps it covered if we get rain this weekend @scrawly because I can't wait to see it finished.

Very nicely done, Donna ! All the rats in the picture are adorable ! And it looks really great as merchandise, also <3 <3 <3

Street artists are amazing, I hope we will see his art work completed ! * ___ *

Unfortunately he did not finish it @veryspider. I meant to get a shot of it today as so many had tread upon it since he left it undone, oh well.

What a cool bit of Art I love the gif you shared ot it in different stages thatis so cool

I hope you get to see the finished street art and get to share with us

When I left the cafe this afternoon, the plastic was off and he was getting back to work, though there is a threat of rain...

So nice artwork!!! That table with the tea pot and the cups reminds me Alice in the Wonderland! ^^ Just a curiosity: instead "to kill two birds with one stone" here in Italy we say "to take 2 pigeons with one fava bean" ^^

Thank you @silviabenefort I love Alice in Wonderland.

I love that expression "take 2 pigeons with one fava bean"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83