Deadpool and Weasel

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Halloween is coming, and I was recently hired to create a couple of illustrations for what promise to be popular Halloween costumes this year.

Here's the first: Deadpool. Ryan Reynolds (as Deadpool) and TJ Miller (as Weasel) play off each other perfectly.


I also wrote a review of the movie back in February. Here it is:

Deadpool is the latest comic book movie in a market over-saturated with comic book movies. And it knows it. The film's self awareness is one of the strongest elements from a first time director, and there's a lot to love about Deadpool. Yeah, I loved it. It's not the best movie ever made, but it's the most fun I've had in the theater since Ant-Man. So, what's so great about it? I'll discuss below, with some light spoilers. Nothing major.

Pros

  • The Comedy. This movie had me laughing within the first 30 seconds of the film, and kept me in stitches the entire run time. It's funnier than most comedies. The humor comes mostly from Deadpool himself, but TJ Miller, who plays Deadpool's best friend, probably has my favorite line in the movie. I won't ruin it for you if you haven't seen it, but if you have, it's starts with, "I'd come with you..." Deadpool is a self aware character who constantly breaks the fourth wall. The movie had to reflect that, and it did in spades.
  • The Action. It's not just funny, it's exciting. The action is top notch and there are real stakes, unlike some comic movies. The R-rating allows the movie to show fighting in very explicit and creative ways. It's bloody, but not gruesome. Think Kick Ass or Kingsman.
  • The love story. Too often in comic books and comic book movies, the female love interest is bland and interchangeable with any other. Not in Deadpool. Morena Baccarin plays the love interest perfectly, and you really believe these two people are in love, and you can understand why. If the love interest didn't work, the movie's finale would feel empty. Luckily, it rings true.
  • The Pacing. At the end of the day, Deadpool is a basic origin story. Again, the movie is self aware. This opens the possibility of creative editing choices, which are used. Flashbacks and fourth wall breaks fill in the gaps to explain where Deadpool came from, and it keeps the movie moving along at an exciting pace. As someone who is not too familiar with the character, I found the movie's explanation of Deadpool's origin to be very easy to follow and very entertaining at the same time.
  • The casting. Two words: Ryan Reynolds. He's never been better. To a large extent, the success of Deadpool rests of his performance, which is fantastic. Deadpool is a wise ass, and Ryan Reynolds is a wise ass. I don't know who could have played Deadpool any better; the casting was perfect. The fact that he played Deadpool before in the terrible X-Men Origins: Wolverine also opens up a lot of comedic possibilities, which were thankfully exploited. The rest of the cast was top notch as well. I already mentioned Morena Baccarin, but credit is also due to the villain played by Ed Skrein (of Game of Thrones).

Cons



This was another movie that was difficult for me to come up with the cons. However, I did think of some. No movie is perfect.

  • The trailer. It's not a bad trailer, but it ruins a lot of the best jokes. However, as a piece of marketing, it's perfect. I just turned this into a "pro," didn't I?
  • The bad guys. With the exception of Skrein's Francis, the bad guys were a little underdeveloped. I would've liked to have seen more of Gina Carano's character and more of "Agent Smith." Also, the terrorist character at the beginning of the movie is kind of forgotten after his one scene. Maybe he'll show up in the sequel: Deadpool 2: Electric Boogaloo.
  • The final fight. The final fight is a bit by-the-numbers. Why not use Deadpool's tropes while he's fighting? I saw one commenter mention that he'd love to see Deadpool beat a character with a boom mic grabbed from off-screen. That's a great idea. I hope they use it in the sequel.

Final verdict: The highest praise I can give this movie is that it made me want to read the source material. I ordered a Deadpool comic on Amazon right after seeing the movie. (Which I enjoyed but didn't love...) Deadpool is a lot of fun, as a comic book movie should be. It knows what it is, it knows what beats it needs to hit, and it does the job almost perfectly. It's just definitely NOT for kids.

Story: ★★★½ of 5
Directing/Editing: ★★★★★ of 5
Acting: ★★★★ of 5
Comedy: ★★★★★ of 5
Overall: ★★★★½ of 5


Next up: (It's a surprise!)
Sort:  

I loved this movie and your review is right on the money!
Looking forward to seeing what you've got coming up.
And I love the illustration at the beginning of your post. It definitely has a true Deadpool vibe. :)

Thanks a lot! Glad you like the art. It's for a Halloween costume social media campaign. I did two, I'll post the other soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48