1st Weekly Sketch Contest 20 SBD Prize Pool

in #art7 years ago (edited)

THANK YOU to @henry-gant for adding an additional 10 SBD to the prize pool!!!
When I first joined steemit one of the first communities I came across had assembled a list of artist. Yesterday I made a post announcing a contest I would like to hold. That post contained that list of people. My intention of tagging those people was not to be simply spam. I want to get to know you and I am sorry if it came off that way to you.
But I'd still very much like to hold this contest if anyone wants to participate. 14991197117781064663687.jpg
Sketch is where all art starts. It's here where you can work out your compassion and perspective. Very few art styles work without this fundamental part of an artistic process. The image above is one I'm currently working on.
The Rules are simple

You may use
*Pencil
*Graphite
*Charcoal
*Silverpoint
*Pastel
*Pen
*Any digital form of these mediums also acceptable

20 SBD Prize pool will be distributed based on volume of entries

All entries should be added to this post by 7/9/17

Sort:  

If Watercolor prohibited?

Hmm hadn't thought of watercolor. Our processes are all different I don't want to leave out any artist. As I'm not familiar with the medium your welcome to show me with an entry. I'll be sure to do some research to make sure I'm give you a fair assessment.

I'm watercolorist, but before painting, I often do some sketches in my sketchbook

you can see examples there: https://steemit.com/artstyleart6/@allfabeta/few-more-pages-from-my-sketchbook

Have you ever tried soft pastel? Your style makes me think you'd be good at it.

I've never tried this before and I have no idea how to use those.

I have youtube.... maybe it's time to try

Can be quite messy. Basic concept is an adult version of sidewalk chalk. You can paint the watercolor over it and it will produce some really cool affects. Gloves and both wet and dry towels handy are recommended... Seriously. ;)

Thank your for this contest.
I find the sketch the most interesting part of a painting.
I've heard and believe That a good painting begins with a good sketch.

So I offer this sketch of a recent painting.

Frida Kahlo sketch.jpg

For a painting I did for Askinya's Frieda Kahlo contest.

https://steemit.com/artstyleart/@randolphrope/this-weeks-challenge-in-artstyleart-is-to-create-paint-somehow-put-into-medium-an-abstract-painting-based-on-frida-kahol-s

Thank you for your entry. I'd have to agree, in it's own regarded it's the most important part.

Hi! I like the content, I`ve upvoted this post. Cheers!:)

Thank you!!! Can I assume you'll be entering

Do you promote your posts in steemit chat in different channels?

I do, although it doesn't seem to help very much. Feels like most of the people in those channels just want you to go to their post and don't seem to care about anyone else's. Who knew giving people money would be so hard lol.

))))))))))))) before it was very helpful...and least after your post went down, it is the only way to promote it again...I can't promote often as I am on vacation and in the evening internet is bad. I also recommend you to insert bright photos. When people go to your blog, first eyes catch the bright picture. I noticed that some of your posts don't have pictures at all. Good luck! And thank you very much again for contribution. I am making a post with the new theme))

Thank you, will have to keep that in mind. It's my pleasure to be here and be apart of this growing community. Your awesome don't let anyone tell you any different ;)

Huhu... I really like this idea and instantly upvoted, but I am unsure how to participate? Shall I upload the drawing in a reply?

Thanks!!! Easiest way I've found is to make a new post and add the link to that post to the comment section of this post. That way I'll also be able to upvote and resteem your post for you.

Thank you for the fast reply. I will try this :-)
I am new here and probably making mistakes ...ahhhhhhh

Yes I already follow her... thats where I found you :-D

Nice sketch, if I was artistic i would like to be apart of this contest lol

Thanks, still got a few bugs to work out before I start laying on paint. It's getting there though :)

Practice makes perfect, keep up the great work ^_^

I want to add 10 SBD to your prize pool. I'm curious as to how you can judge a sketch.
I hope that new artists will enter.
Thanks.
H.G.

Thank you so much. A sketch can be judged just as much as the final piece. While it shouldn't be taken to a refined level, it's the bone structure of art. You may not ever see it but rest assured it's holding everything up. A good sketch will contain the outline for your compassion along with correct perspective.

Resteemed, I hope some of my 'friends' will see this and enter.

Upvoted and followed.

Further more the intention of the contest is more so to try to help encourage artist to not over look this part of the process. To many times I see new or still beginning artists struggle with there art. After a little talking it turns out they started with the paint or did very little prep work. Once on there paint is hard to change, and layer upon layer of the wrong thing may make it impossible to ever get it right. While all those problems could have been solved if the had just used a pencil which can be erased if corrections are needed, and sealed under never to be seen again when it's time to start the fun part.

I'm interested as well! Should we submit the actual sketch in the comments or a link to a post containing a sketch? And is it on this post or should I look up your initial post?

It's up to you. My opinion making your own post makes it easier for me to support you in return for you participating.
Either post is fine, I'm watching both of them.

Hello @dcrockete, this is my entry, I am not sure if this is what your are looking for. https://steemit.com/art/@veronicavaldeon/sketch-contest-book-cover

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85