100% cotton but not a t-shirt

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I recently saw a drawing of a one dollar bill and liked the idea so much I decided to try my hand at it. Pun intended. The one I saw is incredible compared to the one I did, but in my defense, I haven’t put a pencil to a piece of paper for a real long time. So thanks @vaansteem, though you haven’t the slightest clue, you talked me into practicing. I put a pencil in my hand for my introduce yourself post a couple months ago, other than that, it’s been a couple decades since I’ve drawn anything.

It turned out to be more fun than I originally expected and after about 2n1/2 hours I was able to set the pencils down. After a rough outline, I had to do the majority of the shading and do it rather quickly because the shadow kept changing as the sun traveled by the window. (an electric light will maintain a steady shadow for desired time - noted!) I used a mechanical pencil, 3 colored pencils, one piece of paper and an insufficient eraser. (get some erasers - noted!) Here’s what I came up with:


(I’ll keep an eye out for a top-shelf, bad mamma-jamma set of colored pencils, the ink those people use in Washington is fancy!)

By the time I had a piece of paper and some pencils sitting on a TV tray in front of me, I needed a Federal Reserve Note. So I grabbed a piece of cotton paper with the number 20 on it out of the top drawer, you know what top drawer I’m talking about, set it down, and took a picture:


(Model: Andrew Jackson - 7th US President; Well known for his role in the Indian Removal Act of 1830 also known as the “Trail Of Tears:”
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trail_of_Tears
Special shout-out to US Bureau of Engraving and Printing for their outstanding printing services:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bureau_of_Engraving_and_Printing
Also a special thanks to Crane & Company. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crane_Currency Without the assistance from you guys, the Bureau wouldn’t have anywhere to slap their ink. There’s no 👁 in team!
http://web.mit.edu/dryfoo/Masons/Essays/eyepyr.html )

Now that you’ve seen the before and after, let’s complete the series with a couple shots taken in the middle:


(Scroll back up to see the cover image and the slideshow is complete. Hope you enjoyed it!)

That’s the end of the slide show and commentary but let’s talk about those above images real quick before I sign off. We can agree the image on the right is a drawing and the image on the left is a Federal Reserve Note, correct? They’re the same consistency, cotton as each other. Same consistency as an envelope, a newspaper, deposit slip and even the same consistency as that bag your to-go order of food is in.

We all agreed, simply by being born, and still choose to believe, the image on the left holds “value.” I could change the number 20 on the image on the right to a 5 or a 1 or 3 or 27 and we would all uniformly agree it’s just as worthless as it was with the 20 on it. But if I changed the 20 on the image on the left, to anything, we would all agree I’m a criminal. Why? Because we We The People, as a group, choose to believe the laws created to protect the currency (money, dough, paper, cash, spread, coin, etc). After all, the people who invented the currency also invented the laws.

Welcome to 2018! Where a 3D sketch of our adopted currency fits securely in one of these:
BTC - 1PVvtKaPpGuCbSJNt7YqcycWJb9aiPgAdU

Sort:  

Really cool nice 3-D drawing

cool

It's really fine artwork. It's good how you have put progress pictures. I'd like to see more of it.

Thank you for your interest, I really appreciate it. I just started another drawing last night, time permitting, I’ll wrap it up and get it posted on here sometime today. Again, thank you.

Sure. It takes a lot of patience and hardwork. I look forward to that.

Wow... This is cool

That's an impressive level of detail!

When my friend was working at Kinko's Copies, he told me the printers there all had software to shut down if they detected the image of a dollar bill, and then a federal agent would have to come and unlock the machine. I don't think he ever tested this.

Safer to draw them by hand, I bet!

Thank you all. I forgot about the added meditation bonus received once the pencil starts making shapes.

its so nice i like such drawings a lot , if you could add more dark layers , it would even look better , dark gray and black .. :)
followed .. <3

Deal. I have a lot of catching up to do, just last week I learned there’s actually colored mechanical pencils.so I ordered some, awesome! I have no doubts there’s a variety of dark leads, too. Checking out everyone else’s artwork around here, I’m hearing things like a2 or a4 paper size and I thought there was just 2 kinds of paper: with lines and without. Guess I’ll have to yelp an art store and see what I’m missing out on. Thank you! I’m looking forward to your next one, too.

great .. :)
i have a plane to make some posts about how to improve drawing skills , and maybe some home works every week, @crafter made me to do that , and ill be happy if it helps some people who like to draw or paint and enjoy , in this way i can also learn more ,
it will be fun , :)

Great hand skills you can replicate anything I believe i look up to you as an inspiration

I’m really glad you think so, thank you!! I’m going to be trying your technique before too long by cutting the paper, that’s such a good idea, I love it.

Yes looking forward to it :) good luck with that

These are really good! Could you do a tutorial maybe?

It’d have to be a different object. Ha! Imagine a YouTube tutorial on how to draw USD? I can hear em knockin on my door already.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29