There is 'art' in the word 'heart' ...

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I'm glad to be able to post after yesterday’s issues with my PC - thank goodness for Steepshot as it allowed me to post one photo :D

When @jen0revision and I visited the Swansea Museum there were some school projects on the theme of Peace and the above poster was nearby.

I have seen yarn bombing before but have never actually seeing it in real life - only photos. The above caught my eye as it was made mostly in crochet squares. I had high hopes it was to do with crafts.

The text was also interesting to me personally. I agree that there's ‘art’ in ‘Heart’ and so the translation to Welsh, ie Celf Calon makes a point of stressing it ('celf' is art and 'calon' is 'heart'). I was curious about this poster because there wasn't much information about its publisher anywhere.

After a few searches all I could find was the name of an organisation perhaps behind it all : The wcia.org.uk - The Welsh Centre for International Affairs.

I visited their website and found they had an event taking place in Cardiff today. I will not be able to get there and once again I will wonder why everything needs to be ‘centralised’. The capital of Wales, Cardiff, is certainly huge and overpopulated, but initiatives like community building are needed everywhere - better still if that involves 'art' and crocheting.

Sort:  

I like the look of yarn bombing, though I have concerns of the trees health if left on for long term.

wow that is beautiful.

Glad you are posting today :) You can't spell Heart without art ...

Indeed you can't, @steven-patrick :D ... The computer's behaving today...

I love a bit of yarn bombing @cryptocariad. That's a great example. 😊

I love the crochet granny squares @cryptocariad. It looks really pretty wrapping around the tree. It is nice that you tend to be surrounded by beautiful needlework art wherever you go :)

Thanks, @marblely... Sometimes I stumble across interesting needlework or textile things; sometimes I just seek it out...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04