Original Art - Learning to Develop a Style - an "Artistic" Interpretation of an Old BottlesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

A few days before I painted this picture I saw some Roman glass on display in a museum. The glass had a beautiful sheen, a patina, that caught my attention. Such pátinas are the result of chemical interaction between the glass and the chemical minerals in the soil. The museum visit was in the days before cameras in mobile telephones were common, so I had to resort to memorising the colours and the tint of the patina. Then for my art studies evening class, I produced the following painting.

Study of an Old Bottle - thin acrylic on A4 medium canvas

To remind you of what I wrote in my previous post, the photograph I used as a model was this one.

I have no picture of the glass I saw in the museum in Cardiff in Wales, but I did find this picture of  Roman glass after Googling images of Roman glass.

Roman glass bowl, a similar patina seen in the Welsh National Museum of Wales inspired my colour choice.

This photograph above of a Roman Bowl originates from TheBaidunShop.com 

As you see the idea is there even if the brushwork was a little rough (I was late doing my homework).

The turquoise background wash was necessary to reduce the sharp contrast, that took away the shiny glass bottle patina I was trying to achieve. I was trying to achieve a more "painterly" look, rather than a realistic one, but at a distance the image comes across quite well.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83