Top 5 Lesser Known But Very Good Sci-Fi Films

in #art7 years ago

I wanted to make a light second article for today and I thought I might share something that has been interesting me over the last few weeks. For the last few weeks I have been addicted to finding and watching Sci-Fi movies that I haven’t watched before. Whether it is because I might have just missed them, or they are very undervalued, I wanted to give these movies a chance and put them out there for those who might be interested in watching them. They are in no particular order from how lesser known they are and to be honest for you, some of them you might know well, but in my opinion these 5 movies are some that new generation movie goers might miss out on and they should not. Without further ado.

  1. Dark City by Alex Proyas

This movie follows a man who has lost his memory in a city that never seems to have daylight or the day. He starts to exhibit special powers and abilities to move the landscape and quickly realizes something strange is going on in his city.

  1. Unbreakable by M. Night Shyamalan

Unbreakable stars Bruce Willis after he is the sole survivor of a deadly train accident with over 100 fatalities. This movie answers the question “What if Superman was real and he didn’t know he was Superman”.

  1. Robot & Frank by Jake Schrier

Robot &Frank is probably the cutest movie on this list and definitely is somewhat family friendly compared to the others. It stars an old ex thief and burglar who is slowly losing his memory due to what we suspect is Alzheimer’s and his coming to terms with old age. His son gives him a robot to help assist him with daily life, but instead Frank teaches the robot to help him plan and execute robberies.

  1. Gattaca by Andrew Niccol

Gattaca stars a young Ethan Hawk, Uma Thurman and Jude law in a near future world where the capabilities of what you can achieve are solely defined by your genetics. The main character played by Ethan Hawk, assumes the identity of a genetically superior man on hard times in order to pursue his dream of traveling space. The movie questions what defines us as human beings and what is more important, our drive or our genetic makeup.

  1. Strange Days by Kathryn Bigelow

Set in the final days before the new millennium, Strange Days follows an ex cop and memory salesman, as a conspiracy starts to unfold in New York. Strange days plays with the idea , what if we were able to capture and relive our memories through a device called a SQUID. It is an action thriller and definitely a movie you don’t want to miss.

I hope some of you watch the movies on this list and report back what you thought. Let me know if you have seen any of them before and let people know which one you would recommend.

Sort:  

I love any sci fi suggestions, so thank you! I have watched 2 on this list and will check out the others. Unbreakable was awesome :)

I got to see all of those except Robot and Frank, in the theater.

Have you ever seen a movie called 'New Rose Hotel'? It's more future fiction than science fiction, which is weird because it was written by William Gibson, but it's definitely not 'Johnny Mnemonic'. It stars both Christopher Walken and Willem Dafoe. Almost no one knows it exists.

I will be on the lookout for New Rose Hotel on your recommendation @lifeworship. Hard to go wrong with Walken and Dafoe. SK.

I liked it. The combination of everything worked. Some think it is a bit slow, but it's not supposed to be Transformers.

If you want any more suggestions, feel free to ask.

im writing it down, im going to add it to the list!

Hope you like it.

Great finds, will check out Dark City tonight. BTW the numbering system in Steemit is a bit weird, if you do "1 -, 2 -" instead of "1., 2." its works better.

Great post @calaber24p! Unbreakable was top notch and Gattica is one of the best movies ever made, imo.

Now that I know you've got great taste I have 3 new movies to watch! Thank you! :)

I have to agree with you there @trevorlyman - hardly anyone I know has seen Unbreakable and it was great. Gattica is more well known also great. I have also seen Dark City which was like the others it was unique and thought provoking. (I don't want to spoil the ending). Haven't see the other two but will look to watch - thanks @calaber24p. SK.

Strange days is fantastic which is why I put it at one.

Excellent choices, but don't forget Equilibrium and Elysium.

Agree these are good too.

Yours are all classics for sure, following you now.

Ive actually never seen equilibrium but it is on my watch list. I think im going to watch it now :)

Sweet list.
Upvoted and followed. Feel free to follow back.

Following starsteem! Hit me back would you mate. We all seem to have common movie interests.

I have not seen any of these movies. Got to check on this.

Great list. I was unaware of Strange Days, look forward to checking it out.

Thumbs up for Unbreakable... I need to rewatch that one. Never did see Stange Days, so it's going on the list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71