Character Concept Practice: It’s a Good Thing! (And a Little Heart-to-Heart)

in #art6 years ago

Hey everybody and welcome back!

If you’ve been on my blog recently, you may remember me saying that I was working on writing and illustrating a children’s book. My strategy in this is: words first, then illustrations. It seems to be the common thing to do it that way from what I can tell. While I’ve gotten a good chunk of the writing done, I still have more to go and then a revision I’m sure. This means I’m in limbo in the illustration department. So In between writing and doing all other life things, it seems like a good idea to get some more practice in!

2EC0486B-1944-4204-82E1-64B5EA1513C1.jpeg

This isn’t a character in my book, nor are any of my other illustrations, but as the age old saying goes “Practice makes perfect”! And I couldn’t agree more! So making “mock characters” is a productive way to pass the time. It’s enjoyable AND it’s working me towards my goals. It’s a win-win, folks!

While taking up this new art-form has been very fun developing my style, it does pose a problem in the social-media aspect. My art style has been metamorphosing over and over again, which is a big no-no if you’re trying to gain a following in art on social media. As a result, I’ve been losing followers on my instagram account, which is solely for the use of canvassing my art, which means less feedback and conversing with my audience. And that’s what’s hit me. It’s a blow to my self-esteem. I’m not letting this detour me, and of course I absolutely don’t blame those for no longer wanting to follow my art. It’s been all over the place after all! But this makes the interactions I do have here and there mean ever so much more. So a big Big BIG thank you to all of you still encouaging me and conversing with me. IT. MEANS. THE. WORLD. I love you all so much!

So here are some snippets into the making of this piece!

B4EA3A8C-BF03-4AFF-A32F-7F16906EA4A3.jpeg

Per usual I started of with a pencil sketch

086D92DB-F881-48EF-AEAB-6D2FB73D19C3.jpeg

After I was satisfied, I cleaned up the lines by using an inking brush, and filled in the base, flat colors. All the while keeping track of my color pallet by sampling them in a part of the piece I’m not working on.

C7AF5D47-B87D-4C9C-8385-6F73598FDFAF.jpeg

Then I added different textures to the hair and fabrics in one layer and added shadows in another.

553D53D9-D879-4654-BC35-F04ECE851A73.jpeg

Then added some snow in the back and foreground and BOOM! We have ourselves an illustration of a little boy who is ever so curious as to why he’s not allowed to play out in the snow all day.

Thank all of you for sticking with me though this post! I hope you choose to make it a wonderful day. Take care!

Sort:  

what the h... barely no comments?

Anyway this is a really nice illustration. I like the mood and colors and I can feel how cold it must be. Thx for sharing and keep it up.

Thanks for the feedback! I’ve been really liking cold winter scenes lately, can’t get enough!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11