DIGITAL ART TUTORIAL - How to paint underwater hair

in #art7 years ago

How to paint underwater hair

Painting hair can be tricky, but painting hair underwater is something else! In this little tutorial you'll see how I paint underwater hair. I used Photoshop CS5 and a Wacom drawing tablet.

Gravity will have less grip on hair underwater, the ends of the hair will start to float up and the strands of hair will spread out. When painting (underwater) hair, it's important to have good reference. Look at pictures to see how hair behaves underwater, how does the light hit the hair?

underwaterhair_example.jpg

Step 1 - Basic shape

The first step is to paint the basic shape of the hair with a base tone, let the ends of the hair strands float up.

underwaterhair1.jpg

Step 2 - Dark and light

The next step is to define the lighter and darker parts of the hair. Don't pay too much attention to detail at this point.

underwaterhair2.jpg

Step 3 - Detailing

Finally start adding bright highlights, little details and loose strands of hair floating about.

underwaterhair3.jpg

Ofcourse you can continue detailing for as long as you like :)


Let me know what you think and if you'd like to see more digital art tutorials!

footer.jpg
-> Follow me on -> Steemit - YouTube - Instagram - Tumblr - Facebook <-
underline.jpg

Sort:  

Well done tutorial!

Thank you! Glad you like it :D

When I first read your post I thought it says how to paint underwater 🤣🤣 but really really nice writeup. I'm planning on experimenting with a wacom .

Thanks! Glad you like it :D Wacom is awesome! And painting underwater.. that might be another great challenge ;)

I love tutorials. Great progress shots. I'm terrible with hair but you're making it look easy!

Thank you! Glad to hear you like it :D

Okey now i know. I'm weak to art. And.. maybe.. cats.
Oh wait it's you. You wrote an article comparing painting with different hands.
Hi. Hmm.. I definitely should follow you.
Always wanted to learn how to paint.

I hope my tutorials will be helpful then! Have fun practicing :D

Ha nice!! I'm actually think about doing a new illustration that's going to be underwater and perhaps a little bit steemit related. However I might just hide the hair with some kind of Cyber helmet haha. However hair does look lovely under water doesn't it :)

Maybe a little bit of hair can peep out from beneath the helmet? ;)

Congratulations @artwithflo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52