[EN&ES]Drawing Mythology from South America - El Familiar

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi Everybody !

Hola a todos!

Yesterday I came up with the idea of applying mythology from my homeland to my sketches. The place that saw me being born has an amazing and super rich culture full of stories and myths that no one has really used or illustrated. But we are about to change that!

Ayer se me ocurrió empezar a usar mitología del lugar del cual provengo, Latinoamérica, en mis prácticas. El lugar que me vió nacer tiene una cultura e historias mitológicas super ricas y geniales. Historias que hasta ahora nadie realmente le dió un buen uso... pero estamos por cambiar eso!!


19.jpg

This is a great excuse to keep drawing in a daily basis. To have a personal and very strict ritual of drawing all my mornings, just to get better and better, since I feel I am in a great lack of my drawing skills.

Esta es una gran excusa para seguir dibujando diariamente. Para seguir manteniendo mi ritual personal en términos estrictos todas las mañanas tan sólo para volverme mejor en mi área ya que, para serles honestos, considero que mis habilidades en el dibujo sinceramente apestan.

In this case, El familiar.

En este caso, El Familiar.

Long story short, this is a mythologic creature that lived in the northern provinces of Argentina since the XIX century until today. Back then the ferrocarril (Railway) was just introduced in the whole area and the myth started spreading from the very first sugar producers. Those were times where the sugar producers were getting millionaire earnings and the employees were justifying this by El Familiar.

En resumen, esta es una criatura que vivió en las provincias del norte de Argentina a lo largo del siglo XIX hasta el día de hoy. En aquellos tiempos cuando el ferrocarril fue introducido en toda el área el mito que había permanecido hasta entonces aislado se empezó a esparcir entre los ingenios azucareros. En aquellos tiempos los ingenios producían ganancias millonarias y los peones justificaban esto gracias a El Familiar.

El familiar had a shape of a snake or a black dog with two or none heads. Sometimes its shape was getting way more sinister and scary than such shadow in the night. They were sent by the Devil and had a contract with the owner of the sugar producer. That contract would make the owner rich and successful in exchange of eating at least one employee at the year.

El familiar poseía forma de serpiente o de perro negro con dos cabezas o sin cabeza en lo absoluto. A veces tomaba formas muchísimo más terroríficas que aquellas sombras en la noche. Eran enviados del Diablo y se decía que tenían un contrato con el jefe/dueño del ingenio azucarero. Que el contrato volvería rico y poderoso al dueño a cambio de al menos un peón al año.

This is when it really get sinister, because they justified the disappearance of the revel employees with this supernatural creature.

Es en este punto donde la realidad supera la ficción ya que de esta manera los dueños de las fincas justificaban la desaparición de los empleados rebeldes con la existencia de esta criatura mitológica.

The story is WAY more rich, but you got the general image of it.

Por supuesto esta historia es mucho más rica y compleja de lo que les acabo de describir, pero ahora tienen una imagen de quien o qué era el familiar.

Thanks a lot for your support and I see you in the next one!

Muchas gracias por tu apoyo y nos vemos en el próximo post!



(All the images are my own creation and therefore I own their rights)


presentation_ending_2_s.jpg



I always try to listen to the ideas of my fellow followers to improve my posts and to give something back to the community... therefor: What would you like the next posts to be about? What should I talk about? What kind of painting? Would you like some tutorials about arts, about cooking? Maybe some fresh gaming broadcast? I would love to know!

I apologize if I don't reply to your message. Sometimes I can't find enough time for it. But you can be sure that I will read it!

Bye!

Sort:  

You can get a lot of ideas from Indian mythology, it is rich in characters and super natural powers.

I would love to learn about that! Do you recommend any book or place to get some lore?

Thank you for sharing the story. Your drawings are great, continue to keep up the good work :) I have read some Norse mythology. Mythology is interesting and I believe people today could learn a lot from it.

Oh this is gorgeous! Thank you so much for sharing it !!

Great post
Nice art
Thnks

phenomenal & surreal!

Buen post!! Up vote para ti Te invito a seguirme y visitar mi blog para que veas mi contenido

Excellent your art..I impress

A strange story ;) but every culture or nation has such different mythologies.

interesante historia mitologica... todo puede ser posible...

Tanto como en el pasado y como ahora, la gente rica siempre busca excusas burdas y ridículas para hacer sufrir a los demás e enriquecerse con el sufrimiento ajeno, buen dibujo y gracias por la historia, de verdad que no la conocía.

Mythology and art. Can there be a better combo? I don´t think so. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28