Cool Carvings teaser- Ice sculpture

in #art6 years ago




I'm going to keep it a bit short because the story of this sculpture will be told in a documentary movie I will soon share on Dtube. I also have a very limited amount of images in the archives.

This is one of my very early Ice sculptures and I made it along with my countryman Niall Magee. We seized a chance to partake in the International Ice sculpture competition in the Siberian Arctic city of Salekhard.

It was a hell of a journey from little old Dublin to this frozen city. I have never felt it so cold in my life -36 centipede and having to spend up to 12 hours outside working without the right equipment in it was a very special experience.

Being so far north and in the depths of winter also meant that we had very limited day light. This was only around five hours of a strange dawn and dusk combined.



The sculpture we chose to do was simple enough in concept but translating it to a material we didn't have much experience with was another matter. We worked the ice like we it was wood and joined many pieces together to form the globe which represented the earth. Now of course we know that the earth is indeed flat. 😉



As I said at the beginning I will upload a video soon explaining all. Niall and myself, with great difficulty decided that as well as sculpting we would make a documentary of our experience. It was a major challenge as our camera froze and the audio equipment broke meaning some MacGyvering to turn my headphones into a microphone.

After Months of editing on my home computer it was finally finished and luckily bought by Irish TV station TG4. It also did the rounds of a few Documentary film festivals. So we were quite proud of it.
I'll post if very soon so please tune in.



The above picture is of a monument they have in Salekhard to show where the Arctic circle begins. We saw this one our last day but I feel it had some similarities to our sculpture.


clickablesm.gif




Ps

Thank you for joining me on this journey as I look back on my work as an ephemeral sculptor. There are many more to come in both sand, snow and ice.
Below you will find some of my recent posts.




Adam and Eve go Shopping - sand scullpture




A dragons tale - sand sculpture




The Kiss - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

These are unbelievable!!! Are you kidding me? You gotta come to my steemit like you meenit party on wednesday, where I'll be featuring new users on here. I'd love to feature you.

The party is on my discord channel. Here's the link to the invite: https://discord.gg/fUajDBz

Tell me you'll come! Bring all your friends. Free SBD giveaways for stuff.

Hi @littlescribe thanks for checking out my work and for the wonderful invitation. Unfortunately I'll be on the road this week so may not be able to attend at that time but I will definitely check out your Discord link.

Well, I'd love to feature you. But I would rather do so when you are able to attend. I think I will be doing these fairly weekly if possible, around the same time. Does it seem like you might be around sometimes during that time? Or is there a time that works better for you one week? Otherwise, I might just go ahead and feature you without you there, if that's OK.

Very cool. I'm looking forward to see the video!

Thank you @patschwork. Video is another passion of mine. Unfortunately since the birth of my son I haven't had time to do many film projects. I hope that will change soon.

Yeah, these little creatures need a lot of attention. But one day it's getting better...I guess ;) And then you'll miss it!

Very true. At the moment there are lots of things he doesn't need me for anymore like giving a bottle or eating his dinner. I miss those times already.

Nice. you have great skills. Nice. I envy your skills bro. Nice work.

Thank you very much.

Seriously bro. You have got great skills. Loved them soo much,

Thank you very much

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much, I'm really looking forward to what the future holds for creatives.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cool-carvings-teaser-ice-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00