Capture the flag - sand sculpture (remastered)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I've made so many sand sculptures in the last 20 something years that you will forgive me if I don't remember the full story behind some of them. This is one where I can't remember the exact subject matter. I believe it had something to do with the history of Holland as it was made in Thorn, The Netherlands and this was a very popular theme in those days.



I do know that I was asked to make some sort of tower with two characters in a siege of a castle type setting. The block was massive but I wanted the characters to be life sized and the rest just environment. As you may have heard me say before I hate making sand castles but this was a sculpture where I needed to make one.
If only I had a child's sand castle bucket that I could fill and flip over it would have been great but no I actually had to carve the thing. In hindsight it would have been nice to carve the castle like an over sized sand castle bucket sculpture.



At the top I had a guy shouting in triumph as he waves a flag. Obviously he is the victor and some sort of Rebel due to his garb.



And at the bottom, on some rocky steps I made this Knight who seems quite dead, Probably due to the crossbow bolt in his neck. I cheated a little and made the bolt/ arrow with a pencil and paper that I glued some sand onto. To make something this delicate from sand alone would not have been possible so i hope you will forgive me for not being a sand purist. His helmet, lying near bye maybe gives some idea on what the siege was all about.

Well there you have it.
Move along, nothing more to see here.




Why Remastered?

When i first joined Steem i was all excited and posted some of my favourite sculpture from over the years. When I settled in a bit I decided to post my work in chronological order and this one now fits into this timeline.
My style of writing has also developed and I have found other information to add to the sculptures stories.
Also some of these deserve a second outing so my new followers can see them and I can add them to my Steemitworldmap
So ever time you see a remastered post from me this is what I'm on about.


clickablesm.gif




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Dreamtime - sand sculpture

Thorny Vines - ice sculpture

4D Train (Remastered - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.

[//]:#(!steemitworldmap 51.160912 lat 5.847060 long Thorn sand sculpture festival 2003 d3scr)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=capture-the-flag-sand-sculpture-remastered


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Honestly, I'm always missing your posts and I don't know why! Thanks for sharing your awesome work again and again. In this one I love how peaceful he seems to sleep (yes I know he's dead) and how light his hand seems to be although it's made of heavy wet sand...

Yeh I reckon that guy might be slightly dead. Seeing as all my drawings are overpaints I'm definitely not going to begrudge you not being a sand purist. Purism can be cool sometimes but other times the restriction just stops you from making something great ;D

I love that you made missing tiles! My youngest asked if you could go inside the castle and if there would be sand pillars and was disappointed when I said I was pretty sure it was just a solid block XD

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.199 which ranks you at #2816 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 2822).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #68.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91