You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sorry, But No, Not Everyone Is An Artist

in #art7 years ago

Agree in every extent.. just wanna know what we call ourself in that phase where we are just trying to get better with things we like....."struggler" I guess trying to learn so much..

Sort:  

That is very true. I am also a work in progress.. and I don't want to discourage people from stepping out and trying, and we do need to find a safe place to do that where we are encouraged, especially at the beginning when we are just a little sprout!

But it's important to admit our limitations in the mean time, and to be willing to receive honest, and sometimes harsh, criticism.

I had one great teacher who refused to permit cliche/mixed metaphors/just plain blagh work in my writing. I can't tell you how grateful I am, because otherwise I'd be terrible now. We critique people we love, and especially those we see have a gift worth developing!

I wrote a little more in this article, too, if you're interested in taking a look. https://steemit.com/michelangelo/@kayclarity/art-and-mediocrity-a-short-treatise-on-crimes-against-art-and-taste

It's great you commented. I might write an article on that, as I'm really hoping to start an ongoing conversation on here about art and how to shift the culture back toward true taste. This is actually the kind of comment I want to see!

Have a great day - going to go and check out your account!

Xx, Kay

I'd love to read whatever you have in your mind next up... one thing I'm thankful for in this age of internet is we can find true genius and people who do it from soul the only sad part is we need to make some extra efforts to get there they often just live in dark only few of these true artist get what they deserve and one can write a new blog post on why that happens...

It's true. We have to make a BIG effort to support artists, or else they can't survive. Good things die for lack of "water." That's why I am truly so grateful for support on here, in any form. People have already resteemed some of my work, and I'm so so grateful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90