Art & Creativity: "Refreshing" Old Work — an Experiment

in #art5 years ago

When you've been "doing your thing" as an artist or creative person for a while, it's almost inevitable that you end up with a certain amount of old work sitting around your studio.

I know I certainly do!

So what do you do with these items?

I've been painting on stones for more than a decade — it's pretty much my creative "thing," nowadays. But my work didn't always have the focus and vibrance that it does now...

AS0017Header.JPG
Painted earlier this year....

Let's take this older stone from about eight years back.

It's not a bad design, by any means, but it has its share of "issues." The color of the stone doesn't offer the greatest contrast, and the painting itself... lacks some lustre and vibrance.

AS0017before.JPG

So I decided I would try to do a "refresh" on it, rather than just send it to the "donation pile."

Painstakingly re-tracing the original pattern was pretty much a pain in the ass, made worse by the fact that I was putting paint on top of a protective finish coat.

However, it did add some impact to the colors!

But it still felt a bit "lacking." So I decided to address the lacking contrast issue by adding some white... which turned out to be very tight work. But in the end, definitely an improvement.

AS0017After.JPG

Adding a new protective finish coat also helped add both lustre and depth.

All in all, a worthwhile experiment, but probably not something I'd do again, as it was very time consuming. But at least I have something that has a chance of selling at the upcoming holiday Arts and Crafts shows we'll be going to in a couple of months.

If you're an artist, have you ever "re-worked" old pieces to make them more appealing, or to make them more like your current work?

Have a great weekend, and thanks for reading!

2019.08.30 AS-TXT-017

Sort:  

That's a great piece. If I were at your show I'd be tempted to buy it.

I have at least one box of "old stuff that I tried for the first time" kicking around somewhere. I like to look at it every now and then to remind myself how I've progressed as an artist, or creative-ist, or what have you. I don't think I've ever touched something up like that (I certainly wouldn't have the patience like you did) but I do try to make progressive changes on what I've done.

At least, until I get bored and move onto something else.

Now I need to go find that box...

Thanks for the kind words @wwwiebe!

This was just an experiment, really... it was far too tedious and time consuming to turn into any kind of regular practice, but it was still fun to see just "whether it could be done, and an improvement made."

I'm pretty much resigned to just having a "box of stuff" that's going to always be "old work," and the fact that it's always the new work people want I suppose serves as confirmation that my creative endeavors are actually "improving," on some level. And that's a good thing... I think.

Thanks for stopping by!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @alchemystones! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73