Official winner announced and completed commission!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A little over a week ago I started a raffle, the prize being a Steemit themed avatar or artwork created specifically for the winner!

Id like to thank all those who entered for their support! So thank you :3

The winner was @jazzhero and here is what they won!
I finished this commission a lot sooner than expected.

sax man9.jpg

I contacted them, announcing them as the winner! They have been super supportive, and I am thankful !

@jazzhero gave me alot of freedom to do what I wanted! Initially asking for a bard elf, I asked for more to go on ! Here are the elements I was asked to include in the artwork!

  • A character resembling Rami Malek
  • Imagine mixing an elven bard with sax
  • Maybe a pet. To represent steemit maybe a minnow or a fish (in the air) dancing along the bard's playing.
  • Include the colour blue

I was super happy to have so much to consider! and to draw!

1 - I begun by sketching the body, I kinda skipped a step and refined the face abit too early.

2 - I slowly start to build up layers of detail using line.

3 - After cleaning up my lines I begin painting solid areas of colour. I tend to use colour palettes that are too big? I do use random colour generators! they are helpful and challenging!

123.jpg

4 - Much like my line art i build up colour slowly, layer upon layer. Replacing the older layers or merging them with the refined layers.

5 -I continue refining the tone, for the most part I used a dark green for the shading tone. To build up tone gradually I use a brush on a low opacity. I quickly changed the direction that the elf was facing; a good tip to go by, for checking proportions, is changing the direction of what your drawing to see if the proportions still look fine. Also I wasn't happy with the hands, they looked like blobs, so I redrew them.

6 - I had drawn this fish well before this stage but I didn't want to refine them until i was happy with the focal point, the elf.

7 - I applied all the same techniques I previously used to colour the fish, I went back and erased the fins slowly to create a sense of transparency.

5678.jpg

And well here is the final in all its glory XD Did I mention I am not use to drawing men?

sax man9.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post/process.
I hope you have a lovely day !

Sort:  

GG.jpeg

this is so cool! I was very happy when you reached out, saying that I won the raffle. I knew the art's going to be awesome.
I like how you made it jazz but fantasy style. Plus the minnows! Awesome way to incorporate it. turns out my hunch about the mr robot guy looking like a good elf is accurate. This looks like my hero character on Dragon Age: Origins.
Great commission art. I couldn't ask for more.

I am so glad you like it !

I looked at the sax and kinda though how can I make this more fantasy like XD I turned it into a log, cause it would take some kind of magic to play it ahahah.
Funny story I just kept drawing fish until i had drawn a whole school of them! happy accident, kind of.

I just drew things until they worked. It was super fun doing this for/with you!

looks beautiful :) I love the character idea. Nice colours too :}

Fantastic work as usual! another happy client I can tell.

Cheers

@travelmuse approved your post, I make a repost & like.

There is some real mastery in your sketch work!

Naw, I tend to like line work more than coloring :)

Yeah, we all have a favorite party of the process

Wow! It is really great

Nice work! Thanks for sharing the process Its always cool to see other artists steps. =D Im new here so nice to meet ya! I'm gonna give you a follow and if you get a chance be sure to check out my art on my page also ^_^ -Nycto bestnine.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25