Sketch-Booking: A Rewind To The Day That Started It All!

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Sometimes decisions made purely by impulse turn out to be the best ones. I have been a “gut instinct” follower meaning I mostly base my decisions on wether they feel good or not. One such decision has been in my art journey. When I turn back and look at the day of browsing around that favorite accessory store of mine, I am filled with gratitude that I decided to pick up that small sketchbook.

It was all impulse and I had never had a sketchbook before that so therefore had no clue how it would serve me.

I think it was about 3 years ago when I got my first owl print mini book, which was just too irresistible to my eyes. I took me a while before I dared making something on the first page. Thanks to the coincidence (Maybe?) of one of my mentors in my college talking about his passion for sketch-booking whilst also showing me a few of them. I found a burning desire and about a million ideas to fill up my own book! That is the day I saw it as a potential habit and hobby.

I started carrying it around with me wherever I went and it’s as if my way of looking at things started changing bit by bit. At coffee shops, parks, public places, etc. Of course I didn’t sketch at places where it would attract attention but it made me an observer. Also because of that I found my long lost love for ball pens.

What was next? Over these years I got myself more and more material and now it is an insatiable hunger lol. I remember wandering around with @ayushijain, looking at gorgeous sketchbooks online only to restrain ourselves from buying “just 1 more” and avoiding burning holes in our pockets :P She and @komal have inspired me greatly over these years along with a few artists who I follow over the internet. I am so glad that I once again followed my gut and it turned out to be such a fantastic thing for me.

I look forward to buying more and more and more.............& more...... and creating some good stuff 😊🤓

Sort:  

This is such a beautiful journey of self discovery, your post encourages me chase my dreams and do the things I love. keep on shining!

Aww, thank you so much. I am glad it inspired you :) Made my day ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

We all have a story to tell on the journey. We share our ups and downs, come across different calibers of prople. They inspire us to get better.

Nice to know about yours.

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed :) thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28