Using Embroidery To Relieve Stress And Anxiety

in #art6 years ago (edited)


​Whale, shit. Being stressed out is a part of our daily lives, and although I'm a hundred percent in for this new trend of adult coloring books, it didn't exactly work for me the way I wanted to. So, instead, I tried crafting.

The good thing is, you don't have to be a crafty person to find real relief from anxiety and stress through embroidery. I didn't know a lot from it when I first started, just that it was basically getting a threaded needle in and out of a piece of fabric while it was being tensed in a hoop.

But sooner than later, it became more than that to me.



Perhaps the idea of watching a needle do the same movement everytime might not seem attractive to you, but it definitely is to your brain.

A study conducted to determine the effects of making art on stress-related hormones prove that even the most simple creative activity can actually help you cognitively speaking, because the idea of focusing on a single thing at a time, brings peace and calm to our brains. And trust me on this one, it's really, really calming.

I am what you would consider as a worst-case scenario kind of person, and my tendency to control the uncontrollable is my life motto, so I'm always in a state of moderate to severe anxiety on a daily basis. Even on my good days. Over the years, I’ve tried several different tactics to keep my stress from reaching the roof, but the one thing that has undoubtedly worked is embroidery.



The next time you feel the overwhelming feeling of stress kicking your bloodstream again considering bringing your crafting skills to life because even if you suck at it, and I mean, even if you really, really suck at it, 45 minutes of creative activity will significantly lower your stress levels in your body. And your brain will be thankful for that.

If you are interested in learning more about embroidery, you can visit my post, so you can join the crafter's community here on Steemit. ​And kick your stress in the butt!


Pictures were taken by me with iPhone SE

Sort:  

I resteem your post and I like your post awesome photograpy and art thanks for sharing

Those are so cool, they only take 45 minutes?!?

A niche activity to relieve your stress, I must say.

Glad you found this and it helps you. I like the designs, very creative and apposite. There's been a lot of similar studies around knitting and its mental health benefits - as you say, the focus of stitching. It's almost meditative, isn't it, and very pleasing.

Good post! I feel your pain. I also suffer from anxiety and have found knitting and cross stitching really helps. It's nice to see needlework stuff on Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25