Watercolor Painting: A Self-Portrait

in #art4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hello everyone, it's been a long time since I made a watercolor portrait , especially my own. I took my photo last 2017 when I was still a white-haired human.

MATERIALS:

I used the following materials

  • Van Gogh pan watercolor
  • Maries' watercolor brush size 7
  • 5"x7" 300gsm Durer watercolor
  • White Poster Paint for highlights
  • Scotch Tape ( I discovered that scotch tape or plastic adhesive tapes do not tear the paper surface unlike masking tapes)
  • Color Pencils for details
  • Hair Dryer for faster dying.

Reference photo:


That's me :)


Watercolor.png

PROCESS

This is my first artwork since the enhanced quarantine lockdown. And my first portrait this year. pls excuse my gnarly hands

FIRST LAYER

image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png

On the first layer of my watercolor painting, I started with outlining the eyes with watercolor brush and a hint of brown color. And then applied light colors on the paper. I let each layer dry before applying the next color. This creates some crisps texture on the painting.

SHADING

image.pngimage.png

When the first layer is dried up, I proceed on applying the next layer whichis shading. On this part, I just applied more vivid colors on top of each section but not covering it all. I always refer to my photo to see where the darker parts are, then apply it on the paper. I also darken the eyes on this process using smaller but darker brush strokes.

DETAILING

image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png

Detailing is the most excited part of my every painting process. Just like the first steps, I let the surface to be fully dried. I used hair dryer for faster drying. Using my fine pointed brush, I created hair strokes and eye lashes. Then I applied white poster paint for the highlights. Color pencils can help you define the prominent features on your watercolor painting. I used it on parts of the eyes and lips.

Timelapse

Here's the timelapse of the watercolor painting

Finish Painting

image.png

I hope you all like it !

Keep safe everyone

Sort:  

Your post was manualy reviewed and curated by Vitamin C curation group.

I love your short white hair, it looks very beautiful as well as your self portrait painting which is great. ;)

Thank you so much <3

Great portrait, i enjoyed the video process also:) Stay safe and creative:)

Thank you George ! You too ! Keep safe and hydrated

a1DSC03329.JPG
The art-venture-trail…… powered by “World of Xpilar“ community and “art-venture“. Follow the trail at @art-venture2. Support of traditional Artworks on Steem !

WOW THANK YOU <3

Hi @aalagenesis, that is absolutely amazing portrait, I love watercolor in general and portrait is the most difficult topic.It is a good learning for other users of watercolor to see how you managed to create such lively work, appreciate for sharing and great work!

By the way, we are running @art-venture Art contest witht eh subject Animal Art, if you are interested I am attaching the link:

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@art-venture/art-venture-traditional-art-contest-animal-art-winning-pot-30-steem

Thank you so much ! I will try to join i hope I can finish the artwork on time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98