Water Doggo Signage: Transforming a Pet Accessory , Step-by-step Tutorial

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Happy Turtles

LRM_EXPORT_20181002_220523.jpg

If you had read my previous posts about my pets, you might already knew Kosa and Mayor. They are living under my care since October 2017. They are quiet and nice. Sometimes they looked liked they are planning to escape their room without anyone noticing.

Thanks goodness I still have them.

Some of you may ask where did I got these turtles. I bought them in a pet shop nearby.

IMG_20181108_232206.jpg

This is my turtles' accessory on their aquarium. I tried to transform it into more natural wood sign board hoping that it will complement more on their not-so-natural habitat.

BeforeAfter
IMG_20181108_231056.jpgIMG_20181108_231039.jpg

Materials:

  • Acrylic Paint
  • Water
  • Paint Brush
  • Aquarium/Terrarium Accessory

IMG_7321.JPG


Work in Progress

Step 1: Clean and Cover

Prepare all the materials and clean the toy sign board. It has a " No Fishing" Sign before. But since my pets are turtles and not fish , I decided to change this into "Water Doggos". YES! Water Doggos

Clean the surface with water. Let it dry with paper towel or blower, or naturally. Make sure to remove all dirt so that the paint would settle completely.

Cover the body with the base paint. In my case, I used brown paint. Some painters would use white to be the prime painting . This makes the painted color to appear brighter and bolder.

IMG_7320.JPGIMG_7323.JPG
IMG_7324.JPGIMG_7327.JPG

Step 2 Details

Add the details by using smaller brushes. I used black and shades of brown on the sign board part to make a wood texture. I repeat the process until I got the effect I wanted.

I also painted the other parts of it green and brown, so that it looks like a nature-reclaimed sign, full of lichens and moss and small leaves.

I choose to put darker colors in the deeper part of the surface to have a more 3D effect. I tried to make it look natural.

Step 3: Finishing Touches

For the finishing touches, it's now time to write the "Water Doggo" signage or anyword that you want. I used white acrylic paint to make this part. I also added some highlights on the molds and wood.

IMG_7355.JPGIMG_7329.JPG
IMG_7356.JPGIMG_7333.JPG

LRM_EXPORT_20181002_220523.jpg


Thanks for dropping by. Have a nice day

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98