Arcology

in #arcology5 years ago

I love this concept, it sounds amazing.

“#Arcology is the fusion of #architecture with #ecology, a comprehensive urban perspective. In nature, as organisms evolve, they increase in complexity and become a more compact system. A city should similarly evolve, functioning as a living system. Architecture and ecology as one integral process, is capable of demonstrating positive response to the many problems of urban civilization – population growth, pollution, energy/natural resource depletion, food scarcity, and quality of life. Arcology recognizes the necessity of the radical reorganization of the sprawling urban landscape into dense, integrated, three-dimensional cities in order to support the diversified activities that sustain human culture and environmental balance.”

https://arcosanti.org/project/arcology/?fbclid=IwAR2ArBfIK-Y0qlBfYN0b2BpiDnfMEQHfuzSIkZUNu3ENSyhRowYc8tG_S2w

Sort:  

Just as important, something like this would prevent cities from turn into rat-mazes...at least theoretically. I, unfortunately have too much confidence in the ability of people to mess up any dream for a better future.

It would hopefully take easy navigation into consideration. I would hope that they would design cities for simplicity, and make it so that people wouldn't feel trapped or confused. I know that current city design has a lot of subliminal barriers. I read a good article about that, though I don't remember where it was. If I find it, would you be interested in reading it?

I have written on this myself, as part of my story, when a new reality is visited by my characters and they find that in that reality mankind has devolved into city states and the cities are totally enclosed...

Basically I was commenting on the human side of your story - in other words, that I maintain a healthy confidence in the ability of humanity to destroy or corrode whatever is good or healthy.

Thanks for the offer.

Well that certainly sounds like an intriguing plot point. Sort of like a return to feudal times. There was a young adult fiction story I read many years ago that had enclosed cities as a focal point of the plot, it made for some very interesting concepts about rebellion, fear, and social acceptance.

Yeah, the utilization of fear for a small group's individual gain seems to be rampant throughout human history.

Congratulations @nmcdougal94! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This post is supported by $0.15 @tipU upvote funded by @arthur.grafo :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Thank you @arthur.grafo, I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00