Architectural Oddities: The Canton Junction MBTA Viaduct

in #architecture6 years ago

Do you ever look at a piece of architecture and think, What the hell were they thinking?


WalkWay.jpg

Yesterday's adventures brought me to the Canton Junction MBTA station. Most of the parking for this station is literally on the wrong side of the tracks.

Planning my trip he day before, I'd been looking at Google Earth and trying to figure out just how one was meant to get from the lot to the platform, and then I figured, well, there has to be a tunnel or something. I'm sure I'll see it when I get there.

Boy, I sure did.

What we're looking at here is a giant "E"-shaped steel frame structure.

It's purpose is to allow people to walk from the parking lot to the central platform, or to the opposite platform, on a bridge that extends over a total of four train tracks, two in each direction.

WalkWay3.jpg

Along the connecting line of the "E" are three sets of stairways, each two stories high, with four landings.

This is itself would be enough to allow 99.8% of the passengers to safely pass above the tracks. But because of wheelchair access requirements (and I am not saying these are a bad thing) they had to extend the massive arms of the "E" a couple hundred feet out, allowing someone in a wheelchair the opportunity for a vigorous workout followed by a go-kart speed descent.

All I can think of is a childrens' Boxwood Derby competition. Wheee!

In a more civilized country, we would probably have a set of elevators for the passengers who couldn't walk. This may be a suburban station, but the commuter crowds were huge. So it's not like this is an under-utilized spot. And ironically, this structure in the big, open air, funnels the departing commuters through passages that are more cramped than the inner-city underground subway thoroughfares.

Because the commuter rail is in the hands of a private company, who gets all the benefits of a competition free infrastructure-based market without any free-market competition, cost cutting measures are just too much to resist. Incidentally, recent attempts to make improvements have revealed several code violations.

WalkWay2.jpg

Even with all the ramps and rails on this pedestrian structure, it still leaves one glaring safety issue.

Look at the picture above, where the people are walking. A passenger in a wheelchair barely has enough room to pass between that trash can and the yellow safety stripe along the tracks. As I was making my way back to the car last night, one of Amtrack's Acela trains blew through the station. When I first heard the distant rumbling, I wondered why everyone turned around and covered their ears. Three seconds later it was like a steel dragon was roaring down my throat, and four seconds later it was gone. I'm not sure how fast it was travelling but those trains get up to 150 MPH in this corridor. And the only thing between the pedestrians and those trains is a bumpy yellow strip.

A 61 year old man was killed in this location in 2008.

You might wonder why the stairs and ramps aren't oriented the other way, so pedestrians have to exit on the outside, away from the tracks. I sure did. But there's chains and jersey barriers on that side, so anyone who wants to take the safe way out of the bridge has to jump over. Plenty were.

I'm not saying I could design a better pedestrian walkway to serve a triple platform station - but architects are pretty innovative when they have to be. This thing looks like it was designed by a committee who got drunk before they even started.

Sort:  

This thing looks like it was designed by a committee who got drunk before they even started. Thats funny but trud said

Architects and engineers are wonderful people who often don't get paid enough to study what the purpose of the building is or how to make it function properly for people. I'm being sarcastic by the way, damn desk jockeys😂

O you should come here..to see how inventive we can be

power line in the middle path for blind people, freshly reconstructed street
Ckmk9lLaHR0cDovL29jZG4uZXUvaW1hZ2VzL3B1bHNjbXMvWWpZN01EQV8vMGU1Njg0YTcyYTk5Y2Q4ODg1MDhiYjUwZmY4M2EwYzcuanBnkZMCzQJCAIGhMAE.jpg

bike road, going nowhere, freshly reconstructed
palilula-bg-1.jpg

That's nuts! How funny that the guys painting the bike lane just said, "Well, this is far enough!"

The Chinese do thing weird don't they?

Now that you mention it, it does have an Asian flair!

Canton China...right?

Not sure if you're serious. (Told you the Wife doesn't think I can take a joke.)

No, this is Canton, Massachusetts. I haven't been that adventurous lately!

Or designed by a 3rd grade class as a project. Reminds me of Malfunction Junction in Missoula Montana. Sometimes it just makes you wonder.
Our city here had some architect/planner that LOVED one way streets...then two way. I don't know HOW many roads we have in the middle of town that allow you to drive one way only, then all of a sudden, two way. Or vice versa. Drives one nuts, PFI.
I have to admit, that is a funky place you are showing us. And the idea of the private contract, etc is so rampant in so many places. Sigh. Thanks for sharing a major 'what the' with us. Have a nice night.

Class projects: One of the Red Line stations is shut down for several years while it's being rebuilt. Commuters have to take the bus. And the city decided it would be cute to go to a local elementary school and let the kids design the station. So apparently they're building something now that won't have a roof. In the spirit of inclusiveness, or something.

Boston is a maze of one-way streets, but since they were designed for horses it can be forgiven. Engineering streets that way on purpose... just, why?

On old friend of mine (in both senses of the word) had the task of driving his boss' Bentley once a month in the winter so it wouldn't sit too long while the boss was in Florida. (Tough gig.) It had an early GPS in it, and even though my friend had lived in Boston his whole life, he followed the GPS' instructions the wrong way up a one way street and got the first ticket of his life. I'm still cracking up imagining old Vinny in that $200K car stuttering to the officer: "I know, I know, but the computer told me."

The train passing by must be terrifying, especially for babies and children.

It was quite exciting for me, since I've never ridden the express train or seen it anywhere but waiting in the station. But after it blew by I thought, Well, if I ever need to kill myself, here's where I'm going to do it.

And on that positive note....;)

Nice post... You tried.. Kudos to you...i like the pictures and your content.. Nice work

Architecture is wonderful I really liked it...
I thought cars are parked wrong side only in India but I was wrong ...It's parked in Other foreign countries too ..And the post is good and its bad to hear that a man was dead here.. may his soul RIP..

By the way Sir also do check my recent Blog "Big Fat Indian Wedding" it's bout India Culture and their wedding my success story is also there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10