The Beauty of a creative Ghanaian art work

in #architecture6 years ago

I stepped foot into Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology(KNUST) today where we recently had a mini steem meeet up during their hall week celebration. I got closer to where I was I planned going and there stood something that scared me. I simply thought I have lost my route and need to get direction. But interestingly,I knew very well this is the place I am coming to. I got closer only to realize this was nothing but the Great Hall of KNUST. Am I dreaming or something? At this moment,I got relaxed after knowing I aint lost yet.

IMG-20180705-WA0035.jpg

A graduation ceremony is scheduled to happen this week at the great hall which has got the building appear this way. It is nothing but the decoration of the hall where the ceremony is going to be held. It is meant purposely for this upcoming event within the week. In fact this decor has called for the attention of many people especially everyone who find his way on campus. I asked the brain behind the decor and it looked as if I was the only new guy in Jerusalem. He is well known for this beautiful artwork most especially those on campus. He's organised lots of shows and exhibition to showcase the beauty of his art.
Not long ago,he came around with some group of other notable men I have known to have a view of the progress of the work.

8.png

He is no other person than Ibrahim Mahama, a Ghanaian youth who has taking so much delight in wall based artworks. This is what he is best known for as a student of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology.He simply makes use of jute sacks and cloth bags which are mostly used to carry cocoa and others use them as carriers of charcoal here in Ghana. He only gather these dirty bags and inscribed each of them with names and many different patterns just as done on fabrics. This is what he simply installs on walls to create a beautiful architecture image on walls.

IMG-20180705-WA0029.jpg

IMG-20180705-WA0032.jpg

IMG-20180705-WA0033.jpg

IMG-20180705-WA0030.jpg

The work of this artist has gain a lot of national attention and given him so much exposure. Except for the few of us who are not aware of his artwork. It was so amazing to see how people gathered gazing at his men preparing these sacks and installing them on the walls of great hall inside KNUST. I am only looking into how this young Ghanaian would give me ears to find his way here on steemit. I think he needs much exposure to the global market and blockchain family much more than he is known for. I believe lovers of artwork would love to work together with Ibrahim to produce enough beauty of what he does with these jute sacks. He is indeed a prodigy.

IMG-20180705-WA0034.jpg

 Photos : LG G5

Lets see how we get him on board from hence..I only took contacts of the guys he works with..Maybe a good talk will get them directly in awarding these guys a contract which I believe would give me a great opportunity to begin the journey from there.If you love and appreciate the beauty of this artistic work,kindly upvote,comment and resteem to get the attention of all lovers of artwork here on steemit.

 Thank You,@mcsamm

IMG-20180406-WA0014.jpg

Sort:  

100% upvoted and resteemed! man those Sacks over the building tricked me into thinking that was just how the building was made :D African Style? I get thats what the art is trying to show, the Ingenuity, the idea that there WILl bea building no matter what the building materials

Hey man check out this video which i saw trending on youtube!

Hahahaha...l guess the guy had lots of fun here in ghana.. I hope to see you @ackza and @surfyogi where l can walk you guys through the streets of Accra and Kumasi..its gon be so much fun

wow!!!!so outstanding dear ,,,i just surprised to see this marvelous architecture ...really its so great work of architecture ...thanks for this great content ,,,i appreciated dear ,,

You are most welcome @masterlegend. Steem needs to be there to sponsor some of these prodigys

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

I am pratically amazed over this stunninig art made by a #Ghanaian boy. I would have also lost my way if I had to be there cuz the hall has been given a new design. @mcsamm I hope this meet up in KNUST( Kumasi) won't only stop there but also go a long way in seeing some here in Takoradi.

Of course.. And it wont be long at all..thanks for stopping by @loso

Wow
This is creativity at it's peak
I love this
So beautiful

very nice..thanks too girl

Hello @mcsamm, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

so grateful for this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17