You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Undas (All Saint's Day) - Beautiful Sunday

Hello @watersnake101, I have felt very identified with the publication because I live in a country where there is the same tradition inherited by the Spaniards and celebrates as it is.

I have a doubt, that percentages of Filipinos speak Spanish, I could notice some Latin names in the lapidas.

I like Philippine culture very much because it has an exquisite mixture like the South American, but you have its Asian side, but also English and Spanish. It is interesting how different cultural manifestations converge including the day of the dead or the saints.

Unfortunately I was not near the cemetery where my mother and grandmother rest, I could not go. but every year I go to clean and decorate the family stone, and as you say someday I will also be there.

I think it's great that there are initiatives to move people from the third age to the cemetery.

the food looks exquisite. yumm

Thank you for sharing this significant and cultural post

greetings peace and love

Sort:  

Our culture has mixed influences as we have been occupied by different nations throughout our history. The longest was the Spanish which lasted for more than 300 years. If you could visit our country a lot of spanish churches and structures still stands. I have been covering a lot of churches in previous contents. In regards to the language there are a lot of Spanish words that has been adapted. Also we have a creole language that is a mix of our local dialect and Spanish. Specifically in our city the language can still be heard from the elders. I just regret that I didn't get to learn it. Anyway thanks for taking interest on our culture. I'd love to see you visit your cemetery there. Do share if ever you do. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83