Something Special happened this ANZAC day

in #anzac6 years ago

923D86B8-3932-4D12-A722-E3AC5879F48B.jpeg

This ANZAC day was already special, but after I got home and started watching the media coverage I realised it was special for a whole lot of reasons.

I was young when I started working in aged care. I had one moment during one of my first shifts working on ANZAC day, that has stayed with me. I sat with one elderly lady and cried silent tears with her as the last post sounded over the speakers of the nursing home. Since then it has become increasingly important to me to spend time during ANZAC to day to reflect on what it means.

My family and I were up at 5am to go up to a service in Sydney this year. It was special because of a loved one who was leading the march. We didn’t think we would get the chance to see him march because of his medical condition, but he proved the doctors wrong and we weren’t going to miss our chance today. I spent most of the day with family, but was also surrounded by older veterans. It was really lovely to have time eating and drinking together and hearing about what ANZAC day means to some of the veterans of the Vietnam war.

As the conversation turned to medals, I couldn’t help but think of the many people who don’t go to ANZAC ceremonies. The people I’ve known over the years (my pop included) who prefer to sit at home on ANZAC day and leave the medals in the cupboard. I’ve thought a lot about the struggles of returning soldiers, particularly the veterans of the more recent wars.

When I think about what ANZAC day means to us as nations, I think it is meaningful beacause it is part of our story. It was our ‘coming of age’ as colonised nations. It wasn’t perfect, but it was us. We were standing up for what we believed to be right - and that is a crucial part of anyone’s story. It’s not just about the heroes and the medals, as a nation it’s about our story.

When I got home and started watching some Media coverage, I realised that 100 + years of ANZAC day celebrations is helping us learn our own story. Today we heard from people who don’t always get to tell their’s, and there were two things that stood out the most to me.

The first was that the women lead the march in Sydney this year! This was so inspiring to see. It’s amazing how such a simple gesture can have such a big impact - this felt really good. Thanks to my job, I have gotten to know many amazing veterans and heard there stories, but I’ve always been particularly inspired by the pioneering women who served in the armed forces. I think seeing the women lead the march this year would have meant a lot to those pioneers.

The other story that really moved me was the joint Hakka and Corroboree to salute the ANZACS. You can see the full video here - it goes for about half an hour but if you are interested I doubt you’ll regret watching it.

At the beginning of the video they have a very simple message. They are doing this because of what is in their heart, and to tell their story. One of of the Maori guys passionately talks about his experience with being suicidal. He says he did not have the ability to communicate to his family what was in his heart, but eventually he healed and now encourages other men to communicate and choose life. The whole video shows how powerful it was to see two cultures tell such an important story through dance and ceremony.

I am lucky enough to have never known war. I feel indebted to the good people who have. From the bottom of my heart, thank you to all our veterans out there.

Lest we forget.

Photo Credit: Pixabay (townsvillewomen)

Sort:  

Hi buzz.lightyear,

ANZAC stands for Australian New Zealand Army Corps. In World War One Australia and New Zealand were both young Commonwealth Countries and the troupes from both nations were sent to fight. They lost many many people in Gallipoli so on the 25th of April we have a day to remember their sacrifice. The day has evolved over time as a way to reflect on all those involved in war, and what we stand for as a nation.

Thanks @bec-on-the-block.

It really puts everything into context once I read your post again.

Respect.

Great post @bec-on-the-block I could imagine that working in aged care you would really see the emotion of ANZAC Day close up. It really puts things in perspective about just how lucky we all are to be here.

Thanks bugged! We are definately a lucky country.

Congratulations @bec-on-the-block! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29