Anxiety #1: My Story

in #anxiety7 years ago (edited)

What I want to go into in a future video is how to:

  1. REALIZE you see the bear in the distance and by bear I will be referring to the anxiety attack.
  2. CONFRONT the bear and scream and yell in a low voice and tell your bear that you are strong and will survive.
  3. PREVENT bear encounters from ever happening.

I appreciate all of you who have taken the time to listen to my story and watch this video. If this impacted you in any way please share this with others. I hope that we can all together feel empowered to defeat anxiety.

<3 Meli

Sort:  

Thank you cryptodave12. :)

Thank you! You are followed! :)

I'm only 1:39 into your video and experience all the same stuff you do. I'm 31 years old and have trouble with anxiety and relating to women. Haven't spoken to my mom for over two years, so it's difficult for me to imagine being in a relationship with someone because I'm not used to being around people.

Thank you andrew30. I understand how you feel. I personally find it very hard to keep relationships with my family because I just do not do a good job having conversations with people. I get nervous starting up conversations because I find that I do not know what to say after a couple sentences and I get super conscious and plain weird.

Is your mom an extroverted person?

Yes, but she has a lot of drug and alcohol problems. also is bipolar, so you never know what kind of mood she is in. I get nervous around people too, but what helps me out a lot is going to the gym and working out. I find that my confidence rises quite a bit when I lift weights.

oh ok. that is really tough. :/ Have you had to deal with those problems all of your life or did your mom recently get into that?

It is good that you have found something to help you through the nervousness.

Today I had to go to a work lunch with people I didn't really know and I felt very self conscious.

My mom had issues all my life but got worse after I turned 13. The problem with bipolar is you never know what mood the person is in on any given day, so I just elect to stay away from it until she gets the help needed to rectify the negative mood swings.

As far as the anxiety goes, I dealt with a really nasty learning disability that hindered much of my confidence level. As I grew older, became very self-aware of this issue and then people around me were very abusive, so over timed learned to hate myself over it.

Just recently I read a book called the Dark Triad Man by Ivan Throne and would suggest anybody with anxiety read it because the author had his own issues to deal with, so he has great insight in developing self-confidence.

Thank you for listening. You're an awesome blogger.

Wow that must have been really tough to deal with starting so young. It absolutely disgusts me how people abuse those who need support the most. I have also dealt with abuse and would try so hard to remember that they were incorrect and I was a good person. It is so hard to believe in yourself when there are more people fighting against you.

I am going to take your recommendation and find that book. Thinking about it, having more self confidence could have helped me love myself and not let others define who I was.

Thank you for sharing your story.

No problem.

Thank you for sharing Meli!

Thank you team steem!

Thanks for sharing your experiences with us, Meli.

Thanks jgurv!

Despite being very calm on the outside I am often overwhelmed by everything else I am trying to achieve, so I am no stranger to anxiety. Panic attacks are not fun and can be very embarrassing if they happen at the wrong time. It's nice to hear someone else's story. It helps.

Thank you jae5086 for sharing your story. Hopefully we can continue to spread the word about overcoming anxiety. :)

Tips that worked for me...

  • When I'm having a panic I accept it and tell myself its okay to feel this way.
  • Mindfulness meditation
  • Healthy Nutrition
  • Sleep
  • Exercise
  • Time in Nature

Thank you so much for your tips. I really want to try the time in nature. Is there anything specific that you use to meditate?

Mindfulness can be done just about any where any time... but usually best to start with a structured environment first.

Tutorial Wikihow

http://www.wikihow.com/Do-Mindful-Meditation

Video Tutorials



Thank you so much for the videos! I have tried these for the past couple days and it has helped to find a consistant quiet place

Your welcome :)

Love the fact that you are addressing this. Unfortunately, viewing this on my stupid tablet that will not play the video but I very much look forward to watching this tomorrow!

I hope that there can be others that help spread the word and feel comfortable in sharing their struggles.

Let me know what you think about my video once you take a look at it.

Which kind of tablet you on? I want to help the Steem community to work the best it can...

Hey xiobus, thanks for the concern but no fault of Steemit's! Always gives me trouble with videos, on other platforms too.

Maybe the Steem blockchain can become the one that doesn't ^_^

Congratulations @pebbles491! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11