💰Something Different -💰 Antique Safes 💰

in #antiques6 years ago

cover.jpg

We don't just sell fancy lights at my antiques shop. We also sell salvaged doors, furniture, mirrors and antique safes. I thought I'd give you a little insight on the antique safes we stock today!

These old safes are made from the strongest, thickest steel, and are fire proof. Unfortunately, today's insurance companies will not insure them as such 😔 I buy them from all over, here in South Africa, as well as India, America, the UK and sometimes Indonesia.


In the beginning of the 20th century, South Africa had quite a gold rush up in the Johannesburg area. This resulted in many, many safes being brought into the country from England. This means that the safes I buy in are often from companies such as "Birmingham and Co", "Phillips and Sons, London" or "Cyrus Price, Birmingham". After some time a few of the companies must have started to manufacture in Johannesburg, as I have also found some with a Johannesburg label on them.

These safes have the funniest plaques on the front, some even say "Theif Resistant"! LOL!


Below is a "John Armstrong and Sons" safe, and I estimate it to have been manufactured in the early 1900's, making it a true antique. This safe has it's original manufacture sticker on the inside, as well as a matching brass plaque on the outside. When the inside sticker and outside plaque match, you know that the labelling is authentic and original.

This poor safe had a drop slot inserted on it's top, which tells me it was either used in an office or restaurant, or similar setting, where many people would drop envelopes with money in. This means, that in our windy area, this poor safe is full of dust all the time!

22. 620 x 410 x 410 - R7410 incl vat (4).JPG

This is one of my favourite safes that I have ever bought. A double door, fully functioning "Thomas Perry and Sons, Bilston, UK" antique safe. These double doors are quite rare, and if I ever see one, I buy it straight away! This one was in fantastic nick, with original paint and brass pieces.

green dbl door.jpg

Another of my favourites! Ai, I think they are all my favourite! I just love the handle on this safe. It is unfortunately, missing it main plaque, but with the interesting detail on the front, and it's good condition, it still makes a great safe, and super interesting piece of furniture. Often my clients buy these to use as drinks trolleys or bedside tables. Amazing, hey!

grey safe.jpg

Hope you found this as interesting as I did! I do love these old guys so much!

carmen footer.jpg

Sort:  

I love antiques shop!😍
Theses safes...OMG!
I want all!😅
Thank you for sharing!
Followed and upvoted!
😀

Thanks so much 😚 they are gorgeous, aren't they?

Awesome babes, love those safes.

ah, really just love you!

Wow. Loved to view the world of Safes :) . Wasn't aware that u have an Antique shop as well. India does have a variety of such old strong and sterdy Safe's. Upvoted and following u as always.
Regards Nainaz
#thealliance

I wish to visit your shop one day. I also have some antiques in my home! My dad love and he collect them. I have one room with antiques where I have two big wardrobes, chest of drawers, sewing machine, typewriter and many more. All this stuff comes from WWI times. These thing still looks beautiful and they've got one's charm :)

These are really nice shelves, how big is the market for them in South Africa? BTW - never knew you are from South Africa princess

It's a bit of a niche market, but it is there.

I am Souf Effriken, yes!

Such cool classic safes indeed, I to love the handle on the last one

Yeah, I love it too! Often these old pieces have such quirky little details, and I think that is what makes them so cool!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

How do you move them, they are quite heavy??

That is quite right. They are very heavy! 100kgs and over. In our shop, our guys use trolleys and jacks, and brute man strength💪💪💪

That’s very cool. Can I assume all came with the combinations?

Actually, it is a very American thing to have combinations - all of these old guys have keys!

Interesting!

Interesting to learn about these safes. They are each so unique and when you look at them you can imagine all the items kept safe inside. So many stories I am sure!

Oh, yes, I have found some beautiful old love letters, logs of petty cash, jewelry, photos and a bag of sawdust! LOL!!

That is so cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71