Space Battleship Yamato - The best Opening of an Anime I have never seen

in #anime6 years ago

I have tried to watch some episodes but I never got into Space Battleship Yamato. It is a quite confusing plot-line and the pacing feels very slow. However I loved the intro and it was even more awesome when I found out that the original series had the same intro but with a poorer 70s art style. Sometimes people have a lot of nostalgia for old animation, but I think the comparison of the both intros shows that anime has come a long way.

70s Opening

2012 Opening

I always found it hillarious that Spacebattleship Yamato was redubbed to "Star Blazers" in the US, only to hide the fact that the old WW2 Warship was an inspiration for the series. The more I enjoyed when I saw US Marines play an orchestra version of the song.

The government might try to play information wars by censoring anime. Anime often get censored in America for petty reasons like "too many satanist symbols". However the soldiers are sane people and are willing to show their respect by playing a song that honors an enemy they once fought. In modern warfare the respect for the enemy is often lost and maybe I am interpreting way too much into a simple gesture but it almost drove me to tears.

Sort:  

Well, it pushes all the Space Opera buttons, but I think perhaps that sick polka beat just drives deep into your subconscious love of Oktoberfest, beer, and the Fatherland =p

hehe, that might be true. I normally don't like Volks- and March-music, that said this polka style stuff does play a lot here in Germany so there might be some subconscious nostalgia ^^

Very interesting post although I do not like anime very much.

It is one of my guilty pleasures, but right now there are not many great animes airing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76