Lack of Laconic

in #anime6 years ago

Many titles have a backlash reaction to the initial popularity. If they are praised at first, then they are hated. If they are hated at first, then they are praised. And in some cases, there is even a backlash to the backlash.

There is nothing wrong in offering counter-arguments. In fact, it is improving critical thinking; something which our community lacks considerably.

The thing is, critical thinking came to be a synonym to ridiculously long videos. People seem to think that the longer you talk, the better your arguments are. Do we really need an hour long video in order to make a point? Couldn’t it be shorter by taking out some unnecessary parts?

There are many who accuse my videos of being too short, and few seem to realize that I am simply going straight to the point. I am not procrastinating by going in circles and repeating myself.

Even if had spent an hour in analyzing something, the result would be the same, since I would have simply stretched my point unnecessarily. More wordy examples wouldn’t make any difference since they would have been slight variations of my initial claim.

I am not a person who aims to brainwash people into accepting what I have to say by constantly repeating the same thing until it gets planted subconsciously into their brains. And yes, I do repeat the same one-liners in most of my videos, but they are spread apart and they are often used as an epilogue across different topics instead of the same one that is constantly repeating itself.

As much as I am pleased to see the community having more critical channels than in the past, it’s also time to start being more laconic in what we are trying to say or show, instead of keep believing longer videos are better than shorter ones. Unless of course you do it for the money, since videos get more revenue if they are about 10 minutes.

I have nothing against counter arguments, and this guy defending Code Geass has made his points. But he didn’t need more than half the time to do it, and it doesn’t take more than a few seconds to say Code Geass is shit. He should try to be more like me. And read my book.

Sort:  

This is one of the main reasons I can't stand most analysis channels. They might make good and interesting content, but it still feels like I'm losing my time because whatever they explained in 5 minutes could have been easily explained in 30 seconds if they used the right words. Also it's interesting how those who believe the longer the better are also the ones who believe better video editing means higher quality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99