My Favorite Anime Series Part 1

in #anime6 years ago

Please note that these are my favorite anime series in no particular order. I did not include any movies as it would be of a different genre.

So I just finished a catch up marathon all movies and missed episodes for One Piece and I decided to write about some of my favorite Anime series.

Supposedly the very first anime or Japanese Animation was done as early as 1907. It was a three second film called Katsudō Shashin. It is about a boy who writes "活動写真", removes his hat, and bows.

Katsudō_Shashin.jpg

info and image credit to Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Katsud%C5%8D_Shashin

From then on Anime has developed into many different genres that we enjoy today. I in particular love Samurai, RPG and Mecha animes. So my taste in anime series will reflect that. I remember buying DVDs before the advent of streaming and downloading.

FULL METAL ALCHEMIST/FULL METAL BROTHERHOOD

Fmab-poster.png
Image credit to http://fma.wikia.com/wiki/Fullmetal_Alchemist:_Brotherhood

How to I even start to describe this masterpiece. I was first drawn to it because it talked about the Philosopher's Stone. Albeit this was mystical rather than philosophical but we did touch on the concept of alchemy as one of the disciplines borne of philosophy.

So without going through a lot of spoilers, the story involves two brothers, Edward and Alphonse Elric who have did alchemy's greatest taboo. In order to reverse that they are in search of the Philosopher's Stone and they had many adventures and met a lot of people. The anime touched on what is humanity, the Law of Equivalent Exchange which states " Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return. To obtain, something of equal value must be lost." , death, forgiveness and the horrors of war. It was a pretty mature anime to watch. If you had to start somewhere I would really suggest this one.

DAIMOS

Tōshō_Daimos.jpg
Image credit to Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/T%C5%8Dsh%C5%8D_Daimos

I remember as a kid watching this show and I was doing Karate at that time so that opening scene of Richard doing some moves looked totally bad ass! I would even sing along without even knowing what it meant! Here is a clip of that opening song and I hope you get LSS(Last Song Syndrome) as well haha

So the story is the surviving Brahmin goes to Earth to negotiate a peaceful treaty for them to live in Earth in peace. Somehow there is an assassination, things go to hell in a handbasket and a war between the survival of two races occur. Lots of karate moves, mecha action and a Romeo and Juliet type of love affair blossoms between Richard and Erica. I am using the Philippine dub names because I am more accustomed to it.

I was too young to understand the political intrigue and that it is not only a war between the conqueror and conquered or a clear cut of who is evil and who is good.

VOLTES V

220px-Chōdenji_Machine_Voltes_V.jpg
Credits to Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ch%C5%8Ddenji_Machine_Voltes_V

Another old anime because this was one of the shows I grew up watching. The plot was a horde of aliens called Boazanians descend on Earth with the goal of conquering it. Army after army, nation upon nation each fell against their Armada until they get to Japan were it is protected by the Voltes V team. There is a twist in the middle that I would leave out the details.

Incidentally this was banned in the Philippines during the time of the dictator, Ferdinand Marcos, because it dealt with rebellion and revolution. Official reason was because of the excessive violence it promoted. Who knew that this could be politic.

Voltes V was so ingrained on the minds of the young at that time that it appeared in pop culture. One of which was a three piece sculpture called Last, Lost, Lust for Four Forgotten Episodes (aka San Voltes V)

Last, Lost, Lust for Four Forgotten Episodes.jpg
Credits to the original artist Toym Imao http://toymimao.com/artwork/3824069-Last-Lost-Lust-for-Four-Forgotten-Episodes-aka-San-Voltes-V.html

FATE STAY/NIGHT

fate stay.jpg

This was one of those animes that I accidentally discovered and had grown to love. I have watched every single series under the Fate banner even the cutesy Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya (please don'y judge me!)

The story revolves around a magical tournament held every fifty years and the prize is getting the Holy Grail which is said to grant the person whatever wish they may desire. There will be Seven Magis who will compete using their chosen Heroic Spirit. The heroic spirits would be classified into Saber, Archer, Rider, Magician, Berserker and Lancer types. This brings a very interesting part of guessing the backstory of the hero they summon. Although in a way it is also sad because heroes become bound to the Grail and do not rest in peace.

This particular show revolves around the trials of Shirō Emiya and his quest to understand and survive the Holy Grail War. The back stories are awesome and the way that the different series are interconnected just blew my mind. Even the stories of the Heroic Spirits made me feel for them. If you want to binge watch something long this would be a great series for you.

ASTRO BOY

200px-AstroBoyVolume1.jpg
Credits to Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Astro_Boy

Oh God I am so old for even remembering and watching this one. I was fascinated by a robot who looked like a kid but fought of bad guys when needed. The concept of androids were so way above my head yet. I was drawn to the action as he punched the bad guys and shot lasers and fired machine butts from his butt! Say what machine guns from his butt? I kid you not on those. I remember asking one of my sisters if he was pooping bullets.

So it follows the exploits of the titular hero, Astro boy who was patterned after a real boy. His creator had lost his son and in an attempt to fill the void he created an android boy. Eventually he realized that this was a farce and he discarded Astroboy. Again I will not give spoilers but looking back now I am amazed at how this was even made.

So this is part one of the series I will be making on my favorite anime series. Do you remember these shows? Are you hoping to see some of your favorites come up on my list? How about you create your own and we can discuss under #myfavoriteanimeseries

Hope you liked it.

Sort:  

Haha thank you the smug upvote. Btw who is that character?

I love full metal and the fates... But i really want to see more of hunter x hunter

Yeah I love Gon and Kurapika as well but have not been able to follow after Greed island.

Lol I used to love anime geowing. Just not having enough time with everything. My favorites were Naruto and one piece

Haha until know I still watch it with my nephews. I sometimes even recommend to them what is nice to watch.

For image credit. try get the actual image url. So basically, right click on the image and copy its image address or location. The url usually ends with .jpg or .png etc.
Valuable the share with us your experience and perspective

Hi Terry thanks for the feedback. I will try to fix it and future posts will reflect the right way of giving credit.

Thank you so much. I hope to spark a discussion and enrich content through the different passions we have.

Please forgive me, I am not really into animes but one thing I love to watch is Dragon Ball Z :D I remember Astro boy too, my cousins are huge fans.

Ahhaha yeah I still remember getting goosebumps when I first saw Goku turn into a Super Saiyan.

Bro you should watch the whole "Fate" franchise, especially Zero, you can skip Night since Unlimited Blade Works and Night's almost the same, though Unlimited Blade Works is much more detailed than Night. I would also like to suggest Sword Art Online both seasons and Accel World. Both are excellent in my opinion. I have tons of anime to suggest since we both share the same interests, but let's wait for your next list. You might mention some of the animes I have in mind.

Oh I have watched all of the Fate series even the Illya one haha

Nice, what about some old school ones like, Time Quest, I think that's the first anime I've watched.

Oh yeah I remember Time Quest and the magical teapot!! Oh man good times good times

My top 3 favorite animes are

Full Metal Alchemist Brotherhood
Death Note
Shingeki No Kyojin

Great choices! FMB is always a solid bet!

Indeed! The conspiracy it depicts is superb!

I never tire of rewatching it and looking forward to the live action although a lot are harping on the Japanization of a clearly European characters.

I still have hope for it with such a wonderful storyline. I am just hoping it will not be Avatar: Last Airbender bad lol

Oh my , you are an amazing fan of anime series just like my nephew @gremayo . He is a cartoon animator but has drawn plenty of anime figures. I have not encountered any of those series. I guess here in Europe, these characters are also seen by the kids.

Yes with the help of the internet it is a lot easier to find copies of anime series. Even Netflix has a genre just for animes and I love discovering new ones.
I saw that your nephew is an artist and i really envy those that can draw.

Congratulations @maverickinvictus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Favorite ko rin manood ng anime dati. :)

Until now I still do. Makes me feel young lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78