Some birds give their offspring milk; a trait we often tend to think that only mammals are capable of!

in #animals7 years ago

When I tell people that some birds produce and feed their offpring with milk, they often think I’m joking. However, this is a completely true fun-fact that you should go ahead and tell your friends all about, because it is a fact that some birds actually produce a kind of milk that they give to their hatchlings.

The crop milk, as it is called, is produced by the parent bird and regurgitated from the mouth, so they don’t really breastfeed like most mammals do. It does not really look like regular milk, but instead reminds us of a yellowish cottage cheese type of substance. It has a higher level of both fat and protein than human or cow milk, so it is extremely nutritional. It might not really remind us of milk, but it is technically a type of milk, just not as liquid as we are used to.


A greater flamingo (Phoenicopterus roseus) feeding its hatchling with crop milk. Image by Robin Müller, posted with the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

Just like with mammals, the hormone that controls the milk production is the prolactin, so it is based on the same hormone to start production. It also shares a few other traits with mammalian milk, such as having some bacteria contained in the milk, and containing IgA antibodies. Both these are useful to the newly born bird, giving it a head-start in terms of build an immune system.

So, which birds produce milk?

There are only a few types of birds that produce milk for their offspring, and we find most of the bird species to be either doves or pigeons. These both belong to the family Columbidae, and all 310 species produce crop milk. In addition to this the four flamingo species produce crop milk, as well as a few species of penguins.

So most birds to not do this, but we find some examples of it. It’s really cool that all pigeons and doves do it, because these are pretty common birds, so all of you have seen a milk-producing bird!

Thanks for reading!

I hope you enjoyed this quick funfact about milk production in birds! Don't be afraid to leave a comment below if you got anything you want to share with the rest of us :)

Sort:  

What a great view, love...

Interesting writing valth. Thanks for sharing

No problem, I'm just glad you liked it :)

Well thats a first hh. I guess you learn something new everyday. Followed!

Thanks for following! I'm glad you learned something new :)

well till know i also think that only mammals do it but surprised to know after reading this post . @Upvote

I'm glad you learned something new ;) Thanks for the upvote!

this is totally fascinating, and for whatever reason... totally disgusting? LOL

Hehe, yeah, but regular birds give their offspring regurgitated insects or meat that they've broken down into a liquid (ish) substance with their stomach acid, so is this really that much worse? :P

nature really does seem to be just chalk full of vomit.

Yep, it pretty much seems that way ;)

Wow, I didn't know this! Thanks!

No problem, I'm just happy that you got to learn something new ;)

When I tell people that some birds produce and feed their offpring with milk, they often think I’m joking.

I was about to tell you were indeed joking. But technically, you are indeed right. I was thinking about breastfeeding (from the title of your post only) which is actually not the topic at all!

This is cool, I love these little fun facts.

I hope you don't mind me putting you in my 'what i learnt this week' post on Sunday! - resteemed

No, I don't mind at all :)

Thanks for the resteem!

Oh.very interesting. It is the first time for me to know about "crop milk", thank you for enjoying it.

No problem I'm glad you enjoyed it and learned something new ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07