My plants, other animals, and mealworm farm.

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

This post is about my plants and animals so I thought a final farewell to Bob would be acceptable.

You will find all the information and pictures below.

(Tomato plants, and some random plant my mother wanted me to take care of)

If you have any ideas as to what to do with a tarantula carcase do please let me know.

I was thinking about contacting the college in town to see if they would want them but from the research I have done they wouldn't want a Colorado native tarantula. Although, I thought about drying the carcase and preserving it so that Bob would be seen and appreciated by many spider fans and fanatics.

(Final picture of Bob, pictured above in all his glory.)

I use two different types of snails, and a couple minnows to keep a high nitrate content in the water, so far so good.

The Algae and the other aquatic plant I have in the tank have flourished in this environment and has bade my other plants an awesome source of vitamins and minerals from the natural spring fed well water. As well as the environment I keep the tank set at it is sure to be some of the best water I can give any plant who might be thirsty.

(The fishtank I use to water the plants, algae growth is amazing and on purpose.)

Beans, beans they are good for your heart, love to eat them, love to...

Well some of you will get the joke, but what I wanted to show was this small bean plant that sprouted late, but has shot up in growth to even compete with the height of the tomato plant that sprouted 2 weeks before the bean plant. I feel the tomato plant is not getting enough light but the window sill as you already saw is quite crowded and I don't have anymore room. The tomato plant was also an unexpected sprout and so I will have to keep it where it is for now.

Do you remember OPERATION MEALWORM with @Papa-pepper?

Welp, from the meal worms that @papa-pepper sent me I started my very own meal worm farm, so that I will not run out of food for my pets again! So far things are going great, with several of the worms already progressing into the next stage.

Larva Stage

Larva before I picked it up.

Oh look another one!

I also have one more plant to show you and I saved it for last because it is one of my favorites.

Everyone loves aloe, from the health benefits you can obtain from eating it, to the sunburn relief it gives you when you have had to much fun in the sun. I have several plants that have stemmed from this one plant so I thought I would show you the big one or the mother plant as I like to call it.

( You can even see another shoot already sprouting from beside it)

I do my best to keep the environment good for all the life I am in care of.

I have a cage build around all the plants and animals that keeps the temperature around 75 degrees which is pretty good for growth. It also helps the plants to think that it is spring or summer time so they keep growing and I hope to see flowers popping up any time as we all know that is what turns into the fruits and veggies we really want.

That is all for now my Steemian friends, I hope you enjoyed being a part of this experience!

Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

@Timbo

Sort:  

If you don't dry out your tarantula carcass, why not build a small tomb and let plants grow around it?

Oooo, that is awesome. I have already started the drying process. Maybe I can still build a small tomb and let him rest in peace there while his body is used to bring more life to this world!

I love the idea, thank you for this!
~ @Timbo

When your hair starts to thin..you have aloe vera supply to use, organic.

Is that really a use?
TIL: Aloe helps hair thinning.
I have a pretty thick head of hair, but I will for sure remember these words to help in the event my hair starts to thin. Maybe I should tell my mother about this.

Thank you for the comment, the information, I hope you enjoyed the post as much as I enjoyed your comment if not more.

@Timbo

I enjoyed yours yes..my brother applied the jel to the roots, he seems to have thick head and hair lolsss jk.
Maybe your mom can try it? 30 minutes before a shower.
Then you can confirm if it's effective or not.

Ahh, I will indeed let her know. The plants I have are still small so breaking them might do a lot of harm but I will maybe let her try with a few leaves. :D

If it helps or there is a story to report I will for sure let everyone know!

Thank you for the tip!
~ @Timbo

You're welcome..have fun!

You've got a nice collection of plants going there! Tomatoes, Beans, Aloe :)

Thank you, I have several others, I just didn't post them. Maybe I will in a future post.

Yes!!! Next come the beetles!

Indeed they do! I am so excited. Thank you again my friend, within I think a few more weeks I will have beetles and then eggs, and more worms!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86