Sad news for all animal lovers: live animal keychains still sold in China

in #animals6 years ago

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers

A couple of days ago, I was really happy to inform you about the ban on dolphinariums in Mexico in this post as it undoubtedly was a great news for all animal rights advocates and nature lovers. Today, however, I am coming with something that suggests there is still so much we need to work on in terms of ecology, environmentalism but as a matter of fact, the very basic respect for living beings that share the planet with us.

China has been infamous for many issues that animal lovers have been fighting against. Illegal trade of poached animals, brutal dog abuse (Yulin Dog Meat Festival), overfishing etc. are things that are generally known to be happening in this Asian country but I was really shocked when I came across this video on Facebook. I could not believe my eyes so I googled out a few articles on this topic to find out more, including, for example, this one.

kc.jpg

Source: onegreenplanet.org

Yes, these are little animals - mostly turtles, salamanders and fish - sealed in tiny plastic bags filled with water and sold as accessory. They have some extra oxygen and nutrients in the bags so that they can survive a bit longer than just a few hours but it is needless to say what miserable "life" the poor creatures have in those bags.

yIrxyUYudrLvjEf-800x450-noPad.jpg
Source: change.org

To me, it is one of the most disgusting, abhorrent and disrespectful things we, humans, can actually do to animals. Sealing them in keychains... Sometimes, I just cannot stop wondering how cruel people can be. Hopefully, once the word is spread about this hideous practice, it will be banned forever.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

China is really doing all sort of crazy things when it comes to animal abuse, so this does not really surprise me. Many Chinese people seem to treat most animals as inanimate objects, and not something that is actually alive.

I am afraid you are 100% right here. Many Chinese treat animals like things rather than living beings. On the other hand, I feel like the new generations might want to change this terrible mindset. But even if there is some willingness to change their approach to animals, it will not happen overnight. It might take decades.

I am hopeful for the new generation as well. It's not like anyone seem to be able to influence the current generation, so I guess we just need to put all our hope in the hands of the next one. However, there's a huge wave of youth who wants to move China towards using renewable energy, so they might actually surprise us and have decent views towards animals as well.

That´s exactly what gives me some hopes too. Their interest in renewable energy, revolutionary "green" urban planning etc. Let´s hope their attitude towards animals will change soon too. Way too many species have already been driven to extinction in China so it definitely is about time.

I guess we just need to cross our fingers and hope that they change their attitude towards the animals, @phortun :)

Way too many species have already been driven to extinction in China so it definitely is about time.

The problem is that they are also becoming very efficient at driving them to extinction in other parts of the world now as well. Animals such as pangolins are beginning to become much rarer in other parts of the world, after China began importing them once they were too rare to find in China anymore.

Oh yeah, thats is a very good point. I think African fauna has been also suffering alarmingly because of the demand for "ingredients" used in the traditional Chinese medicine. Hopefully the changes come before it is too late (which I think already is by now though).

Yeah, the African fauna has been hit hard! I've read some reports that China is also beginning to import a lot more wildlife products from places such as South America as well now, so I guess they are just moving to new grounds now that the animals in Africa are becoming increasingly rare.

So brutal all Chinese people in the matter of animals, why ? The pictures really hurts

It hurts indeed.

Wow, that is just messed up.

Absolutely!

That is just so brutal and messed up 😢

It is. Completely messed up and disgusting.

I had seen this a while ago, and cannot express in words how sad it made me. It's simply awful, the most cruel thing I've ever seen....people really suck...this makes me lose faith in humanity

Exactly Eve, knowing something like this is happening in the 21st century (in a relatively advanced country!) really puts me close to losing my faith in humanity too. But then, I remind myself there are also many people like you who actively fight for animal rights and for the well-being of the planet and that helps me restore the faith. Really ;)

How sad for these animals.
But more sad to think that we are insensitive to such events, only for money.
Hopefully, this situation can be improved and let animals be free in their habitats @phortun.

Yes, hopefully, this insanity will be prohibited soon.

Things like this make me sick really, I couldn't have even imagive that people can do that. I am speechless, the only thing I want to say is that sometimes I lose my faith in humanity.

Same here Anna. Like I just said in my comment for Eve above.

We were thinking exactly the same thing! Sorry I hadn't seen your comment earlier!

wtf...I had no idea this is happening over there...how the hell can regulations allow this?

I had no idea. Honestly, I thought China has been making some progress in these things but obviously, there is a lot they still need to work on. I am sure these animal keychains will be banned soon though. It is just so disturbingly inhumane.

Tak to je hnus. To nejsou lidi...

Taky si říkám... :(

I‘m absolutely shocked. A sad fact is that there are actually people out there who buy the keychains and stuff like that. Otherwise this industry wouldn‘t work. I just can‘t understand those people. This shit makes me super angry.

Absolutely. The buyers are to blame just as much as the sellers here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33