Look into my eyes, deep into my eyes!

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

Lookinto my eyes.JPG

It was an unusually warm Decembers morning almost 14 deg C. Traffic was heavier than usual. The normal commute to the office for me is probably the same as it is for many, the dull trudge of motorway driving, nondescript blurs of multiple colours and shapes passing by my window as I progress at a never hasty enough pace. Only randomly catching the eye of other work goers through misted windows. The knowing nod that suggests we will get there eventually. This morning on the way to the office a truck passed me, tall silver sided, slatted, with strange cooling fans built in. It took me a couple of seconds before I realized what this thing that resembled a Jawa sandcrawler was, It was a "livestock" transport truck. As it moved further along beside me I could see faeces dripping down from parts of the upper floor to the outer walls. This clinical machine, cold and precise was stained with the waste of its cargo. Animals under severe stress can easily lose bowel control. The lane that the transport was in slowed and ground to a halt and so I passed by again, creeping in almost silence like the thief in the night, not wanting to wake my victim. I can not tell you how many of these trucks have passed me by or I them over the years, hundreds, thousands, who knows? How many souls had passed me by on their final journey? These ghost ships passing like some innocuous form. Traffic ahead looked impenetrable but I plotted my escape, ahead was a road to freedom, a slip road sent by the gods that lead to an overpass to remove my from my automotive hell. As soon as I saw my break in the conveyor or undertaking cars I took it. I dove headlong into the slip lane and grasped my liberty. Rising above all the other poor mortals who remained on the three lane'd clogged artery like blood cells jammed behind a wall of plaque.

As I rose above the other lifeless forms below I came eye to eye with the inhabitants of the transport. Pigs, there they were, what looked like hundreds of pigs, three layers of packed, petrified, pink pigs! I made direct eye contact with several of these passengers. One looked like it was relieved, I wondered why this creature would be relieved to be in this totally alien environment. When we think of pigs we think of pigs in a field rolling in muck and foraging for food, using their strong yet sensitive snouts to root out something tasty to eat, after all pigs are better at hunting for truffles than dogs, they are so good at it they can sniff them out from 3 feet underground! The sad reality is that the vast majority of pigs in the Ireland (92%) and the U.K. in the US it is at 97% are not raised in idyllic green pastures, they are born and raised in hellish concrete tombs. They will only see the sun on the day of their transport to their slaughter. These tombs are built for one purpose and one purpose only, profit. Concrete slatted floors allow for the excrement and urine to pass from the living quarters of these intelligent, social and emotionally capable animals in order to minimize the labour that has to be employed to care for them. The sows are kept in an almost perpetual state of pregnancy, by being forcibly impregnated (p3) while restrained with their offspring removed and fattened up to be sold off for slaughter. Sometimes I think we can just gloss over terms like artificial insemination without a moments thought as it is still almost science fiction to the general population, not something that really happens. It does, almost 100% of all sows are artificially inseminated, think about that for just 1 minute, a creature that is smart enough to recognize its own reflection and use a mirror as a tool to find food is stimulated both chemically and physically by the farmer, has an insemination rod with a balloon of semen that has again been manually taken from a boar squeezed into its cervix. When we as loving caring people actually think about what happens in these places how can we not be utterly disgusted? But what of the pig? why did it look relieved? Do I really have to ask myself that question again?

There are obviously huge welfare concerns and cases every year of abuse and neglect from all across the world by greedy people who care nothing for the right to life of these creatures. But there in lies the problem, what rights do these animals have? Am I just being anthropomorphic? I cant seem to justify after all my research why these animals should be acceptable as food. During my animal welfare course the five freedoms were discussed. To the best of my ability I can not find anywhere in a pigs life that these freedoms are afforded to them. We brutalize them from their birth to their death all so we can eat their cancer causing flesh? Yet we call them dirty animals? To call someone a pig is an insult. Is this just more social conditioning in order to make what we do somehow acceptable? After all it is easier to destroy something that you hate or feel is inferior to you, it has been used by bad men for centuries to take what they want from those who are weaker than them.

I originally published this post on my personal blog Feoilfreefamily.com in Dec 2016. Everyday I drive to work I see at least 1 of these trucks, every day I well up thinking about what will happen to the poor creatures onboard.

Why anyone would choose to eat the flesh, wear the skin or use products that burn and scar animals in testing is beyond me.

Upvote and follow resteem.gif

#steemstem

Sort:  

A well written post. I must confess, before I went vegetarian and afterwards vegan 2,5 years ago I didn't ask myself those questions about if it is wrong to eat meat or not. I simply didn't. It was not worth the time to think about it or I was afraid of the conclusion. Now, vegan more than a year I must think: Who was I back then? I always thought I was an empathic person but now I think I can't be empathic when I just ignore millions of poor souls suffering every single day in their whole life. I am so glad I did this and choose to be vegan. It was the best decision in my life so far. My engagement will also definitely rise in defending and fighting for animals rights! It's one of the most important world problems for me right now which needs to get solved. I hope one day you won't see trucks passing by anymore! Or trucks which are transporting them to a sanctuary!

It is something I say to my self every day, I must remind myself that I was once a consumer of their flesh. I must remember that not everyone has seen the light, for some they may never. We must continue to spread the word for the voiceless. We must be their army and fight their fight, for they are the ones who suffer. People calling us weird or soft means nothing to me. Only cowards throw words like that at people who are trying to make the world a better place for all life, not just the 2 legged kind.

Thanks @talesofhorizon for taking the time to read and comment, every bit of support and exposure for this cause is worth it.

We definitely need to continue our support and even increase our engagement! I try to reach all kind of people in my life and on my Instagram account and show them that this is the only way which should be walked!

You're welcome! Lets build that vegan community here!

Oh whats your insta? I'm Feoilfreefamily.

Thank you for being voice for these beautiful creatures. It is known that pig intelligence with 6th month old are equal to two year old child. And we all know what 2 year old child feel and how they think... Never in my plate!

Thank you @vranilo for taking the time to read and reply. I have done tonnes of study in animal intelligence and in cognitive behaviour, it was my drive to understand how animals think that opened my eyes. I did have a post in introduce yourself if you are interested in it you can read that here ===> https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@moonunit/little-pig-little-pig-let-me-in

I don't think I really nailed the introduce yourself post with this one but hey, chances are more people read it than just a smiley pic of me and about me. I had a look at your feed too, love your pics too. It's great to have a little doggie companion when out exploring.

"We humans really are a plague on this planet". I say this every day... Everything you said is perfect. Just the way it is...

Thanks so much for your kind words. It is comments like this that help give me the strength to write pieces like this.

I forgot to follow you earlier too, Your pics are amazing. So very creative.

Just go for it, you will find strength on the way :) Thank you.

thank you. what a horrible thing. i unfortunately think about it all the time and still haven't made my full transition. let you said though, it takes time, and I'm getting there.

on another note, great writing. seriously. i loved it.

Thanks so much @herbertholmes Believe it or not it took me several attempts to write that post, it really took a lot to control my emotion to make a readable, somewhat humorous post to keep readers attention.

Don't worry, everybodys transition is different, for me it was overnight, for some it takes longer. The important thing is you are getting there.

It is everything we are changing for, animals, health and environment. Peace, if I can help with anything just shout out man. I will do what I can to help.

You're the man! I may reach out. For the mean time I will just continue to read your posts for inspiration. This one did a lot, and was very readable, humorous, etc., but really got your point across. The emotion helped it, I think it made it strong.

Thanks so much, its comments like this that help fuel me and let me help others. It actually takes a fair wile to get real readable sources too.

Stay 💪 man.

I get so sad to read about animal transports to slaughterhouses. But this was very well written. I agree with Ken that I Always thought I was an empathic person before I went vegan. Now I wonder how I could be so blind and actually choose to not see the truth. I'm so happy to be vegan now and could never go back to consume any animal products.

Thanks for reading Nicole. I think that we were all blind. That is the way we are conditioned, our parents did it to us, their parents did it to them etc. I do not blame them, they knew no better, we do so we can not continue. Our eyes are open, be that by accident or however.

Once you see the light you can not go back to being blind. I fear for so many "Plant based Vegans" who only follow food trends and don't get the fundamentals of Veganism. I don't want to sound elitist at all, because I am far from that. Believe me the more plant based meals that are eaten the better for everything on this planet.

I agree with Everything you said. And I do too hope that the "Plant based vegans" find their way to living completely cruelty free. But as you said. Every plant based meal is a good one :)

It truly is horrific what they go through, I only wish I had realised sooner in my life, can only try and make up for lost time. Upvoted and resteemed. Thanks for caring.

It breaks my heart every time I see the trucks of death. Only this morning I was driving beside a truck with young male cows. Probably destined for live export to who knows where. Empathy for these creatures nearly kills me but we must fight on!!

Thanks @tonysayers33 I appreciate your support.

You're welcome, keep up the good work.

What A great Post
just followed and resteemed your post, Follow me back and upvote my posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48