Did You Know There Are 10 Quintillion Insects On Earth? So Here Are Just 3 Of My Favorite Photos I Have Taken Of Bugs, One Of My Favorite Subjects For Photography!

What amazing creatures insects are. Not only are they quite impressive to look at, but they are so very well adapted. Ants for example can carry 60 times their body weight. 

Insects make up the most biomass of all creatures on earth, even though they are so small. In fact ants are likely the greatest success story in the history of creatures on earth besides maybe the cockroach. On average, ants make up 15-20% of the terrestrial animal biomass, and in tropical parts of the world, they make up 25% or more!

Thats just ants! It is estimated that there are over 10,000,000,000,000,000,000 insects on earth and make up 80% or more of all the biomass of living creatures on earth. 

So with that being said here are 3 of my favorite bug photos that I have taken over the years!



Its just stunning and while not dominant like ants butterflies are without a doubt one of the most beautiful bugs and one of my favorite to photograph!



Dragon flies are truly amazing and without a doubt the most capable flyers on earth! 



This bug is pretty boring haha, but its a reminder not to be scared of bugs, they are living creatures too and have been here longer than humans and deserve to be respected. Make a bug friend today!


I love nature and hope to inspire people to appreciate it and connect with it. I also love photography because it is one of the best ways to share the beauty of the world with others right in their own home!




I am now doing 50/50 payout posts simply because the SBD is high at the moment, but I will be converting it all to $teem to continue my perfect record of cashing out ZERO $teem nor ever powering down, thus powering up!


~*~Here you can find a list of lots of the SteemGear I have designed and already done photoshoots for~*~

I appreciate your support and am grateful to be here on Steemit. I welcome any feedback you have to offer as well as an upvote!

SteemOn!




Sort:  

Your nice photos drive home how insects are so varied in what they do, and where they fit in the world around us. And they are beautiful, too.

Your post is also a good chance to remind folks to avoid planting seeds, or flower or vegetable starts, that have systemic insecticides in them, like the neonicotinoides. Many places treat their seed with the neonicotinoides, like Imidacloprid, to cut down on insect damage. But it's not just the seed that will have the insecticide in it. Because it's systemic, every part of the plant that grows from the seed will have that insecticide in it. Even the pollen. I think folks can figure out what that means for our wonderful pollinators, like bees and butterflies.

The big box stores know about the problem and are phasing out their use of the insecticides. But they are only partway through that process. Lowe's by 2019 and Home Depot by the end of the 2018 growing season. Walmart and Tru-Value Hardware, too, but I'm not sure of their target date. It's better to plant no flowers than killer flowers! Finding organic sources for seed and plant stock is the only reliable way to plant clean, from a major store, at this time. It may be worth asking someone in your local stores, if you think they really know!

Happy growing and appreciating all the insects! :D

Very good info, thanks for sharing. Thankfully there is some change happening humanity has a LONG way to go and even though its only a little step it is a step.

Blessings~*~

I agree, & wonderful comment /explanation on HOW these doggone neonicotinoides are Harmful .. I don't Like how so many bees have been ELIMINATED from the Planet Earth.

SO ... Thank U for Bring This to Others' attention (I upvoted you ] ♥♥

Yes we need to respect all of life including the bugs, they are essential to our ecosystem on earth of which WE DEPEND ON!

now u have answered one of the biggest questions I thought i would never get an answer to! I feel sorry for the person that had to count them all, but now we know! ;-)

now heres a stat to blow Your mind Brotha..
Did u know that in your body there are 37 x 1021
(37 thousand billion billion) chemical reactions happening every SECOND!!!

no wonder im feeling tired today..

love your love of all animals.. a love that I share with you full power.. i was trying to pet a cockroach the other day.. i succeeded .. <3

Hahaha yea and I forget the exact stat about how long DNA is unraveled but thats also an awesome one!

To the sun and back! No joke ;))

Sounds about right ;-)>

trust me, he is THE ORIGINAL

hahahaha ;-)>

Thanks!

Bugs are such amazing creatures. It's amazing how prolific they are and how they stand the test of time. We have so many bugs at the @gardenofeden. We could take dozens of pics a day and still have fresh bugs to photograph the next. These are awesome shots and great reminders too of the value of their presence. Great post @quinneaker.

Yes what is exceptionally profound is that even after being here for 10 years there are still new never before seen bugs every year!

oooooo....and those bumblebees! Not to mention the fireflies!!!

Yes they are beautiful but plentiful and seen many times

Awesome shots! The butterfly is especially striking.

The world is a miracle!

How bout a pic of giant Japanese Hornet? U have great pics!

I don't have a pic of that, but I do have some hornet pics.

Very cool photos of small world living beneath our feet. I feel some fear (phobia) to butterflies. So weird. I admire their beauty, but I can't bear them touching me. Their wings are sticky. I'm scared that I might accidentally hurt them. So I avoid them and fear. But insects undoubtedly have a certain charm.

Wow never heard of anyone with a butterfly phobia I wonder if there is even a name for that???

Most likely there's a name! Need googling it, ha ha. I wasn't interested in it earlier.

Ok let me know if you find out haha

This phobia is called LEPIDOPTEROPHOBIA

wow there is enough people scared of butterflies to have have phobia name???
Amazing!

Very cool shoots! Thanks for share all the info

Your welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48