When You Try To Get A Selfie With A Llama And Fail

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

I tried way too hard to get a selfie with this llama, but he was too stubborn to help me look cool, unfortunately.

Come on, llama get a selfie!

Oh well, I tricked him into at least letting me capture this good pose!

The good people who work at Machu Picchu told me that if you make a crinkle noise, the llamas get curious and come to inspect it.

So, they were nice enough to give me a little bit of trash...

Haha, I never thought I'd say it was nice of someone to give me their trash.

Well, you know what they say...

...one man's trash is another man's treasure. Or, one man's trash is another man's llama attraction.

I did feel a LITTLE guilty for making the llama think I had something exciting in my hand when it was just trash 😕

I just wanted to hang out with him sooo badly, but he didn't want to hang with me. I don't know why.

I had showered that morning, so I don't think it was 'cause I smelled bad.

After trying a little too hard, I finally almost got a selfie:

Semi-selfie fail.

I'm not sure why a llama selfie was so important to me.

I probably should have been focusing more on, I don't know, the AMAZING world wonder right in front of me!!!

Machu Picchu is legitimately amazing. It deserves its spot on the world wonders list. When you're up there, looking down, it's almost impossible to imagine how someone could have built that thing.

And I have a pretty good imagination, so, that's saying something.

It was built for the Incan emporer in the 1400s, who must've been a SERIOUS introvert. Or a hermit. Because seriously... Macchu Picchu is basically out in the middle of nowhere.

The Incan emperor wasn't about that extrovert life, haha.

Can you imagine living up here?

After all the twists and turns to get to the top, my little friend here was feeling like crap:

The crazy thing is, they built it without any tools, or wheels or anything to help them carry the stones up the side of the steep mountains.

I think Incans are extra smart, because they created this world wonder and the design is insanely intelligent.

Because did you know that the majority of the impressive stuff about Machu Pichu is actually underground?

Yep. It rains a lot there... so the designed the rocks underground to double as a drainage system. And to get drinking water.

The only un-intelligent thing they did was eat too much corn. It kinda wreaked havoc on their teeth (or at least I THINK that's what the guide was saying when I overheard some of his talk).

Maybe they should have brushed their teeth with urine like the Romans did to prevent bad teeth.

But I mean, cut them some slack... it's not like they had a grocery store or anything.

I probably just would've gotten confused, and starved to death, so the Incans have me beat by a mile.

~~ This is my entry for the animal photography contest by @juliank ~~

Sort:  

LLAMAS!!! Also - hiking Machu Picchu made me feel like the biggest wuss! Especially Huayna Picchu. I'd scramble up a little bit (like a really little bit, maybe 30 steps) and then have to stop to catch my breath, totally heaving like my lungs were collapsing, stand there for a minute thinking "What's wrong with me??!!?" then eventually feel fine enough to continue on, then repeat cycle! Loved it though would love to go back and take @suitcasemama!

Haha well in your defense for getting out of breath... Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-altitude (to the tune of that blame it on the alcohol song haha). You should take @suitcasemama! It's one of the coolest experiences you can have!

Oh, the a-a-a-a-ltiude was/is blamed, believe me! The alternative, that I was hopelessly out of shape, that couldn't have been true, riiiiiight? That I hadn't been doing my squats squats squats squats squats squats (to the tune of Shots)??? :)

Would love to go back, although I've heard it's changed a lot since I was there. Didn't do the Inca Trail though, maybe I can convince her to do that with me next time! I miss Latin America, it's been a looooong time!

Hope you're well and steering clear of head injuries!

When in doubt, it's ALWAYS the altitude's fault, lol.

Hahaha I literally started saying "squats squats squats" to the tune of "shots" and then I read that you meant for it to be that way! hahaha we just read each other's minds. That made me laugh out loud.

Headache is still there but less intense, sooo as long as I don't trip in the street or something, I suppose I'm good! haha you and @suitcasemama are awesome.

Haha. I laughed out loud when I saw who was feeling like crap. Is that yours?

Haha yeah. I take him traveling everywhere with me... I have him with me now, but I almost ALWAYS forget to take pictures of him

Manchu Picchu looks so cool. I don't mind being a hermit there as long as they have wifi.

Haha right?? No wifi. No idea what he did all day lol

Never thought I'd see an image of a Llama next to such a beautiful lady. You have some awesome photography going on @nomadicsoul..

Thank you! I really appreciate that!

My pleasure..

That's a llama with a lot of drama! There's a llama ranch near Dallas and they have five llamas there. I spent an afternoon there learning all about their peculiar characteristics and also got some amazing pictures with them. They were all super friendly! I'll do a post on it soon. You managed a pretty decent selfie! :)
Machu Picchu is on my bucket list and going by how difficult they are making it for everyone to access it, I need to plan my trip soon.

The Llama really looks like he is looking down at you laughing, like hahaha I’m higher than you!!!

Haha true!!! Thanks for commenting

haha, tha llama is amazing. how they built machu pichu? It was there before mayas arrived, if you wonder and enjoy this curiosities, I will tell you that the same structures found in machupichu were found aswell in eastern island, Egypt, turkey and many more.
It had to be a global civilization, probably before the ice age.

Oh interesting, I've never heard that theory. Do you know what the places in Turkey and Egypt are called?

Hi nomadicsoul ,
I found an article with similar content here:
Plants in vine!
This is because you likely copy and pasted some form of content --
whether it be your own or not. This is not an accusation of wrongdoing,
but merely an informative comment for the reader.

If you get repeated warnings we will start to flag all nomadicsoul posts!

A nice animal. But the most important decoration is a beautiful girl in the photo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97