Sisters Who Brood Together...

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

I'm not the best photographer. As I do most of my work on my tablet I usually just take my photos on it so I can post them straight up, but it's not a great quality camera and focusing can be a bit hit and miss. I digress though. Despite my photography skills, or lack of, I love giving the odd photo contests a go and it's lovely to see a new one aimed at the homesteading community; thank you @knowledge-seeker!

I'm doubling up this one for @juliank's World of Photography @photocontests, because he's another great supporter of photographers, yes even pathetic ones like me!

IMG_20171222_130806.jpg

These broody sisters decided they were going to brood in company a couple of weeks ago. That's Nugget at the front and Toffee at the back. They are cross breeds, with a Light Sussex father and Golden Legbar mother. As with most hybrids, they have that hybrid vigour when it comes to laying, but it's balanced out with a broody vigour! Yes, it turns out that broodiness it's also exacerbated by hybridising! In this case it's probably not a bad thing as the egg laying breaks will hopefully give their system a bit of time to recuperate so they don't lay themselves into an early grave.

Sadly, these girls are too clumsy make good mothers; They are big girls and end up breaking eggs when they tread on them! So they've already been brought out of their broody mode.


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

YOU'VE been Secret Santa'd TODAY! Please check your wallet for a Secret Santa Gift!

santa.png

Image Source

Thank you sweet GD! Bless you and Merry Christmas. 😗

You re very welcome!! And Merry Christmas to you!

Healthy looking chooks - I remember, growing up, Mum and Dad had quite a few hens and one majestic looking rooster named Charlie. He was a (I think) Rhodesian Red - if that's even a breed. Anyway, he had these brilliant red feathers that turned almost luminescent when the sun hit them.

I've been wanting to get a couple of hens (preferably good layers) so my children can grow up experiencing the joy of having chickens as pets, and also of collecting and cooking fresh eggs themselves. Would you be able to make a few suggestions as to the best places in South Australia to find egg laying hens, @minismallholding ? Also some suggestions as to the equipment needed to keep them safe and comfortable.

Hope you have a very Merry Christmas today!

Thanks

Thank you.

I'm going to guess that Charlie was a Rhode Island Red as Rhodesian is a type of dog. They are a stunning breed, just as you describe him. 😁 Not one I have though. If I had 100 acres I'd be hard put not to have every breed going! 😂

I'd say do some research as to the best set up that will work for you. I posted a chicken basics article a while back which might give you some ideas on where to start: https://steemit.com/chickens/@minismallholding/chicken-keeping-basics-for-beginners
They make fantastic pets, but there are a couple of things I would raise as food for thought now I have hindsight. The first is predators, as they are a pet that gets kept outside and are a prey animals. We were complacent and didn't think it would happen in an urban area. Here's our experience, because you don't want your children to have to experience this: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@minismallholding/an-early-morning-visitor
The other thought is you might want to avoid commercial hybrids if they are to be beloved pets, because 90% of the time they'll lay themselves into an early grave. Most fodder shops only sell hybrids.

I don't know where you are, I'm in Craigmore, but I currently have an Easter Egger hatch which is now 3 months old. There are some real sweethearts in there are looking like they could be pullets. However, I can also find out breeders that might be nearer to you if you like. Just let me know.

Another thought is did you want large fowl or the smaller bantams?

Feel free to ask any further questions. There is also a facebook group for South Australia called Feathered Friends and there are a lot of experienced people there. I don't know them personally though and have only ever bought from one, so I can't vouch for any as sellers.

Yes, you're right, Rhode Island Red. I knew it had Rhode in it somewhere!! Thanks heaps for all of this information - I'll make sure I do some reading before anything else, and also check out the Facebook page you suggested.

I was thinking large birds as we would be wanting to use the eggs - unless bantams are able to lay decent sized eggs.

I'm fairly close to the airport - we don't get a lot of noise from planes, but do on odd occasions. Would that put them off laying?

It depends on the bantam as to the egg size. Some lay surprisingly big ones for their size. They usally range from half to two thirds the size of a standard egg.

I don't think they'd be put off by the noise. It would become normal for them. Our heatwaves tend to cause them to slow down more.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 04:05:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 71.00/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

HAHA! Nugget looks pissed and Toffee looks tired!

😆 They do don't they!

Two for the price of one. Being bigger birds, they do sometimes have trouble. I would have to agree with one of the other comments that Nugget looks tired and would rather be doing something else. Overall, great job!

nice click. I like it very much. I think front one looks sleepy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98