You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fruits of labor

@taraz, I agree with many of the points you'e made here, and I wholeheartedly agree that Steemit is not a race for accumulation of value.

I also take note of your observation of the generosity of wealthy people. I have seen such behavior on a continuum from selfish to generosity. I suppose it might not be fair to do so, but I find that the disposition of wealthy people in relation to others correlates well with public policy outcomes.

At least here in the United States, it's been fairly well documented that the average person has near zero influence in public policy outcomes, and that wealthy individuals and organizations have the most measurable, if not exclusive influence on public policy outcomes. I have also seen it well demonstrated that for the last 30-40 years, public policy decisions have had the effect of concentrating income at the top or, to put differently, to distribute income upward.

It is this long term trend of income distribution with public policy decisions permitting such distribution that, to me at least, indicates just how generous the wealthy are in America.

I am a long term believer in Steemit. It took me a long time figure out what to do here, and I think I've finally hit upon a direction and attitude that works for me. I have also seen that distribution of the reward pool has flattened a bit and will continue to do so.

As you can probably guess, I like to write. That is what I will do here on Steemit to build a following and be a part of this community. I will find other ways to create content as well, as I've been dreaming up ideas for videos, too.

I suppose my one biggest weakness is that distribution thing myself. I have been making a point to vote daily, vote often and look for content that I like and spread my votes around. I also want to comment more often, too.

I am aware of the circle jerk issue you describe and have seen well documented cases of that kind of behavior. My best response is to keep writing, keep posting, keep voting for content that I like. Over time, it will average out if everyone just did that.

Probably the most significant insight that I've learned about Steemit is that it's a gift economy. That one thing has brought about an enormous shift in my attitudes about writing and posting here, as well as voting. That alone has made it much easier for me to focus on quality, rather than quantity.

It is my hope that Steemit learns from the public policy mistakes that have brought such extreme inequality to the United States, and that it creates a genuine virtuous circle where participants can all prosper, together.

Sort:  

You make a good point about the wealthy being able to influence public policy in their favour which hints at them also being able to influence themselves to be in that position to do so. People also often forget that for many of the whales here, they were wealthy before steemit too.

As far as it goes that the policy is to shift mney upward, I agree except, it is the lowr reaches that facilitate it through consumption and ignorance of various systems in play. The system is set up to enslave but for the most part, it is a willing decision to be shackled. Many people spend a great deal of time watching sports yet have any excuse as to why they can't do this or have that. Personal responsibility should be at the core of everyone's value system yet, it isn't.

Steem is a kind of gift economy but, it is not a charity for the most part. There has to be reciprocity of some kind. A vote for good quality or an app update but, not just for showing up. Too many don't understand the system but still feel entitled to reward.

I am glad that you have it figured out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73