Police Brutality or Maybe Just a Cop Who Wants to Smack Someone over the Head ??

in #anarchy5 years ago

My point is it was police brutality plain and simple as that. Yeah the victim was pissed off being assaulted by his roommates and burglarized and also pissed at the police for being 45 minutes late.

But...

The damn police are there to defuse any situation like this. Not there to get their feathers ruffled by people complaining and being a little hot headed. And then decide to smack the hell out of the guy and press the knee into his chest.

For the most part...

I have respect for the police. In the past was always cooperative whenever I was engaged with them for speeding tickets, car wrecks, victim of assaults etc..etc.. But I have to admit a few bad apples can spoil it for all the good ones.

This is a few years old but still serves as an example of how to NOT act if you are a police officer !

Sort:  

Things got out of hand quickly. Can’t help feel sorry for the guy after getting beat up and then roughed up by the police officer. Looks like they both had a bad day and taking it out on each other but the police officer is expected to act better than that performance.

I do not trust the police people at all. some people are good police but due to bad police, respect for good police is also in danger.

It would be different if things like this only happened rarely.

But more and more police departments are sending their officers out to do battle with the public, rather than to protect and serve, rendering everyone -including the officers - less safe.

One of the cases that always bugged the heck out of me was when a guy called to report a prowler in his yard. The police arrived some time later, according to eyewitnesses didn't bother to identify themselves, and shot the first person they saw . . . who was, naturally, the property owner who had called them in the first place.

I had my own run in shortly before I left my former marriage in Florida. I was getting ready to take my morning shower when I heard what sounded like a gunshot a bit north of my home.

I called 911, told them what I heard, and was honest that it was possible that it might have been a car backfiring, and in the process gave them my name and address. Then I went to take my shower.

About fifteen minutes later, I came out from my shower, thankfully with a towel wrapped around me, to find two Largo sheriffs deputies stalking through my living room with guns drawn.

I identified myself as the one who made the call, noted again that the shot did NOT come from my home, but from a few doors north, and they apologized and left.

But what if I hadn't been calm, white, and very polite? How might it have otherwise escalated then?

I've said it before and I will say it again. I think we could all learn a little something from watching reruns of "Cops". For the most part they are always kind and respectful except when they need to not be. It also reminds me of the movie "Road House" where Patrick Swayze is telling the bouncers to "be nice until it is time not be nice".

Couldn't agree with you more @bozz. I just never have had a problem with Cops. Be respectful and nice and you can count on about 99.9% of the time the same back from them. Even the hot head cops. And believe me there are some out there.

P.S.Back in Oct 2000 , I had a neighbor call on my parents house as there was a prowler around , Well it was me and I came home from outta town to stay at parents house while they were in Europe .

I heard some quiet footsteps upstairs. I thought it was my brother. So I come upstairs and had 5 Glocks pointed at me and was yelled to hit the ground. I did and was handcuffed and frisked. It was a misunderstanding as they found out. I was a little shaken but we all were civil and respectful to each other. And Life went on....

I agree most of the time being respectful probably does the trick. I am white though and have never been profiled or pulled over for "driving in the wrong neighborhood" as my brother in law has. It is scary to think your story could have turned out differently had you been a different race.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree most of the time being respectful probably does the trick. I am white though and have never been profiled or pulled over for "driving in the wrong neighborhood" as my brother in law has. It is scary to think your story could have turned out differently had you been a different race.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87