A response to those who laugh, chuckle, and smirk when I say I am an anarchist.

in #anarchy7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0641.JPG

People often laugh or smirk when I tell them I am an anarchist, or when they bring it up with me, as if it is some sort of cute joke. Go have a look at the video of the recent attack carried out by US-backed "moderate rebels" on several buses in Syria.
Funny how the media won't cover this attack. It is grotesquely real, with charred bodies of children hanging half out of broken windows, blood, smoke and burnt flesh.

Anarchism isn't cute and funny. I get that maybe it's a new idea to you, and sometimes ideas developed well-beyond one's presently held beliefs and conceptions can smack of "lunacy" for their sheer initial incomprehensibility. There's no excuse anymore. You can rail as an adult about babies coming from storks, the tooth fairy, and Santa Claus all you want. I won't respect your views you have put next to zero effort into developing.

The state IS violence. Without violence the state CANNOT exist. Do you believe violence brings peace? You've been duped.

So when you laugh, I laugh at how lost you are, and hope someday you'll be able to see past the blinders. I used to believe the same fairy tale bullshit. Then I realized that it's all just that--a bloody, murdering, raping, pillaging, evil myth that fearful amoebas believe.

Let's evolve. I have.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

When people say Anarchist they still equate it to the old bomb-throwing loonies of the late 1800's and early 1900's. Or more recently the violent jerks that show up at protests dressed in black destroying everything in sight. They wear the anarchist symbol and cover their faces like the cowards they are. They're not anarchists, they're just a bunch of coddled college assholes that are communists (even though most are too stupid to understand communism either)

This is why I usually state that I am a voluntarist. It has essentially the same connotations as anarchism but without the preconceived undertones of chaos and mayhem. It also usually sparks up some questions, like, what is voluntarism? Which is always a good thing when you're trying to unlock some minds.

Good idea! Most people confuse Anarchism with Anarcho-syndicalism, a form of communism. They think of the Emma Goldman, bomb-chucking whackos.

Excellent response. I just followed you because of it. :)

Awesome, thanks!

Nice post. I am also an anarchist, I think beliving in multual aid in our personal surrounding will help us more than than any control by hierarchic systems. I follow :)

Thanks, and followed back! I don't have a problem with hierarchies unless they are coercive, but I agree 100% in getting in touch with community, surroundings, nature, and learning to flow with it and live in mutual aid and synergy.

Excellent post! I like your work My friend

I get it also. I prefer to surround myself with people that get it. It is pretty easy here in Panama as our community is small but tight. Then we have the interwebs which brings us all closer.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97