Happy Ashe Wednesday!

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

Today is Ashe Wednesday....ok ok it's actually "Ash Wednesday" which is a Christian (mainly Catholic) holiday to celebrate peace and falls on the first day of Lent (before Easter). It is observed by fasting, abstinence from meat, and repentance – a day of contemplating one's transgressions.

I'm no longer a Christian, but it doesn't mean that I didn't learn some valuable lessons from my time in the Lutheran church. My take away from Ash Wednesday comes from the saying "remember that you are dust and to dust you shall return".

To me, this means that life is a gift and that one day it will be taken away from you. Finding peace with the present moment contains much power and happiness. Isn't it interesting how the "present moment" could also mean the "gift moment"?

Have a wonderful, peaceful and reflective day today. Can you find something to appreciate? I'm currently appreciating being surrounded by other free-thinking, voluntary, anarchists here in Acapulco. How about you?

With peace and liberty,
Ashe

Sort:  

Absolute pleasure meeting you in person finally brother Ashe! We are on the same frequency!! Much Love

you too man! Thank you! Let's do it again soon.

Jealous that you're still there! I'm freezing my balls off in Vancouver. Yup the sooner the better! ;)

@ashe-oro,

HAPPY BELATED ASH-VAL CELEBRATION💗➕.

I hope your Wednesday was fun filled as I spent most of my time with my loved ones after lectures
images.jpegcredit

RE: [Ash Wednesday is a Christian day for peace and the first day of Lent, which is six weeks of repentance before Easter. Ash Wednesday is observed by many Western Christians, including Anglicans, Lutherans, Old Catholics, Methodists, Presbyterians, Roman Catholics and some Baptists. It derives its name from the placing of repentance ashes on the foreheads of participants to either the words "Repent, and believe in the Gospel" or the dictum "Remember that you are dust, and to dust you shall return."]
Reference on ash


Lolz😂😂 you are now an ex-christian, I'm saddened by this info.


  • How was your First stop in Tokyo, flight✈ to Mexico City, Acapulco?
  • Interviews with our favorite Steemy Anarchist, especially @fabio?
    I hope this 4th annual Anarchapulco! Will be fun filled
    I will visit this site in a bit as I came across it in your last post. http://www.anarchapulco.com/

HAPPY ASHE-VAL STEEMING 👌👌👌😉😉😉

I'm appreciative of my wife.

Call me a sap, but she busts her ass for our family, and I appreciate it.

Have fun in Acapulco! I just found out there's a similar convention in Austin this May called Voice and Exit. I'm going to try and attend.

having a family is something I hope to experience one day. The nucleus of freedom and love, if your family can obtain it. Congrats :) I've heard to Voice and Exit....i hope to attend too!

Maybe we'll be able to meet up there! We'll see how it plays out :)

Having a family is awesome. It changes every single part of your life. I'd be a much more reckless person without them. They're my reason to live, on many fronts.

dear ashe congratulation to you :) and happy your day. I hope, you have a good holiday

you are dust and to dust you shall return

Let's make what's in between count.

Big thanks for this post! By the way I just did a post where i talked about why DTube is Amazing! Please check it out!

If Hallmark start producing cards now declaring 'Happy Ashe Wednesday' , my pathetic upvote will be forsaken!
Safe travels and enjoy Anarchapulco :-)

haha. keep commenting and posting, it'll build up.

Thanks for the well wishes, and happy Ashe Wednesday to you as well sir.

I am also no longer religious, but I carry with me some of the traditions and values that I learned along the way.

Thanks for sharing, cheers.

Thanks for the vote, followed. I’m newer and looking to network with other motivated members of the Steemit community.

awesome, keep commenting and thanks so much for stopping by ^_^

" life is a gift and that one day it will be taken away from you. " Many people don't realize it , they just keep on working for money neglecting their social life . There should be balance in life between personal life and professional .

or find something that you are so passionate abt that the 2 (personal life and professional) are so close that it's never work.

I hope you had a nice Ashe Wednesday. I strongly agree with you and i believe also life is a gift and i would add to that, that one of our purposes on life should be to strive to make the world better than when we arrived :)
Hope you're enjoying Acapulco :)

thank you @ninegags! It's a very moral goal to help the world obtain more peace during our short stay here. More Acapulco pics soon!

Thank you @ashe-oro Its definetely a good goal. If only more people tought the same...
Looking forward for those pics :)

True, "dust we have come from and dust we shall return".

But then @ashe-oro, you mentioned you are no longer a Christian. If I am right, you were once a Christian.

What really happened? How come the loss of the christian Faith? Mind sharing???

BTW, happy Valentine's day.

Valentines-succulents-roses-arrangement.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11