Songs that planted seeds of Anarchy in my mind: Michael Jackson - They Don't Care About Us

in #anarchism7 years ago (edited)

Inspired by @hilarski’s recent article on songs that laid seeds of anarchism in his developing mind, I would like to share one of my most favorite songs that helped me question the legitimacy of the state.

Michael Jackson – They Don’t Care About Us

The song was track #2 on his 1995 HIStory album, and was upon its release immediately considered inappropriate for its lyrics and videoclip.

The song is sharp, militant and is a powerful voice for the oppressed. The singer calls himself “a victim of police brutality” and “a victim of hate”. Critical of his own government, he sings:

Tell me what has become of my rights
Am I invisible because you ignore me?
Your proclamation promised me free liberty, now
I'm tired of bein' the victim of shame
They're throwing me in a class with a bad name
I can't believe this is the land from which I came
You know I do really hate to say it
The government don't want to see

Accused of anti-Semitism

The day before the album’s release, Michael Jackson was accused by The New York Times of having penned anti-Semitic and racist content for the following lines:

Jew me, sue me, everybody do me
Kick me, kike me, don't you black or white me.

Although Michael Jackson responded by saying that the song itself was a demonstration against injustice, including racism and anti-Semitism, radiostations throughout the United States were reluctant to air the song. Michael Jackson said:

The idea that these lyrics could be deemed objectionable is extremely hurtful to me, and misleading. The song in fact is about the pain of prejudice and hate and is a way to draw attention to social and political problems. I am the voice of the accused and the attacked. I am the voice of everyone. I am the skinhead, I am the Jew, I am the black man, I am the white man. I am not the one who was attacking. It is about the injustices to young people and how the system can wrongfully accuse them. I am angry and outraged that I could be so misinterpreted.

Eventually, Michael Jackson felt compelled to take the album off the market, to return to the studio, and to reissue the song with new lyrics. “Jew me” and “kike me” was then substituted with “do me” and “strike me”.

Two videoclips

The first videoclip of the song showed Michael Jackson handcuffed in a real prison in Queens, New York. The videoclip was interspersed with violent video footages. Several countries banned the videoclip for its violence, and Michael Jackson decided to shoot another with director Spike Lee.

The second clip is shot in Brazil despite the authority’s attempts to ban the video production in fear of the bad image it would spark. At this time, Brazil was bidding to host the Olympic Games 2004. Nonetheless, the residents were happy to see Michael Jackson and were hoping that their social problems would be made visible.

Despite the controversies surrounding the song, I believe that Michael Jackson’s message has always been one of love and inclusion. I don’t think Michael Jackson was an anarchist himself, but I’m sure that he was critical of government.


If you enjoy reading this article, please consider following me. I mainly write about philosophy, economics, and my travels.

Follow me @chhaylin
E-mail: [email protected]
Wordpress: www.chhaylinlim.wordpress.com
Sort:  

He was amazing and this song check it out

Indeed, Michael Jackson was awesome! Are you an anarchist, @dim753? Or do you have songs that have heavily influenced your views on life?

I'm not an anarchist but i'm from colombia and this song makes feel identified becuse our goverment not works for people

Ah, I see. :)

Yes good post, michael was the greatest and was mostly victim of a huge operation in the states against the black community.

I don't like the fact people relate his death to the 'Illuminati', but Michael Jackson could have been killed by a group of people though. He said people were after his music catalogue, and you don't need the 'Illuminati' to explain this.

This inspired me to create a post.
Cheers m8!

Fantastic Article! Agree with all of it.

Thanks, maxjoy! :)

You can not help but love his songs. Legend.

Totally agree. Legend! :)

Could we have that rare moment of an internet first in this article? An association between Michael Jackson and anarchy!

Thank you for the thoughtful post!

Haha :D I think Michael Jackson would be open for anarchism. One of his biggest idols, Charlie Chaplin, certainly was and MJ was extremely disgruntled with the fact that the US government didn't allow Charlie Chaplin back in the country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34