Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 84

in #americanninjawarrior6 years ago (edited)



Source

Ever since I woke up late and half-missed a conference call, I've been running around being super late for everything. I'm normally totally punctual and early for everything, but today has just not quite been my day.

So... it was with great effort and restraint that I actually did a yoga session today. It would have been so easy to not, especially since it made me nearly late for my next thing, but it was worth it. I still feel pretty new to the yoga-world, and it's pretty much 98% really uncomfortable... but I also feel like it's a bit of an injury-prevention exercise... and my mobility is terrible.

Proud of myself for smashing it.



Source

I also got down to the local ninja class... even though it takes a good three and a half hours out of my day. We're going away for the weekend and I'm not sure how much training I'll get in... so I kinda had to make it happen today.

It was rough. We did lots of rock climbing which my hands have lost their conditioning for. I'm just haven't spent the time on any bouldering walls and it shows. I've got a hangboard in the ninja shed that I just haven't been using... that needs to change pronto!



Source

We also did a mini-course which I love. Even on a super short course in front of a small class... I still get nervous. That might never change.

I was partnered up with the strongest dude, and he finished all 6 obstacles in 3 minutes and 4 seconds. I very much intended to beat that... and I was hitting a really great time... and then missed the final point we had to touch and fell off the obstacle... it bounced out of my reach and I just fell. Arrrggghhhhh, so close.

You get a retry, and everyone said I had hit that very last point at 2 minutes and 10 seconds so even with a retry, I could still power through that obstacle and win the mini-course... but I failed even worse the 2nd time... my hands were toast.

There's such a battle between going fast... and going slow enough to complete the course. I've still got to learn that balance. As it was, tonight I came 2nd to a super strong dude... but ahhhh... so close, but just not quite...



Source



Slow is smooth and smooth is fast.
I tend to rush things... I think because I'm ultimately impatient. I want a result quickly, even if it's not the result I want. I need to slow down and make sure I can finish every obstacle. I don't honestly know how to know when I'm ready... it's just something I need to be intelligent about and think about carefully.




Yoga

  • 30 minutes of P90X3 Yoga


Ninja Class

  • An hour and a half of hardcore ninja-ing. I'm gonna be real sore.



Lats and my core sides were pretty achey today, but I forgot about all that as soon as I started doing all the things.




Yoga sessions (1/2 Completed)




100 Rep Challenge

  • 30 minutes yoga = 50 reps
  • 1.5 hours of Ninja Class = 100

@steemmatt's fitness challenge for Wednesday - 150 reps



Titan Games application due date - 14th April
UNAA Regional Qualifier - 5th May - Camp Rhino, Boise, Idaho.

Thanks heaps for reading... super super super appreciate it.


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

Shit I've fallen in love with the girl on the first pic :D

Haha, she's amazing. So strong and able. She competed on the next season of Australian Ninja Warrior and I'd bet the house on them putting her on the TVs.

Slow is smooth and smooth is fast.

Preach brother. From what I understand, this is an old Navy SEALS or other military mantra. But I've seen it all over the place, in terms of training and practice. The place I initially saw it was when I was getting into running for the first time and read the book "Born to Run" -- where one of the runners says:

“Think Easy, Light, Smooth, and Fast. You start with easy, because if that’s all you get, that’s not so bad. Then work on light. Make it effortless, like you don’t give a shit how high the hill is or how far you’ve got to go. When you’ve practiced that so long that you forget you’re practicing, you work on making it smooooooth. You won’t have to worry about the last one – you get those three, and you’ll be fast.”

It really stuck with me, and made a huge difference.

I have to say.... I'm not sure if a single book (or really two books counting 'Natural Born Heroes') has had a bigger affect on me than Born to Run...

I always had flat feet and so podiatrists were always trying to chuck me into inner soles... I played indoor soccer for years without any issue, and then when I started to train (and doubled my weekly running) I got plantar fasciitis and bounced from podiatrist to podiatrist spending more and more and more on custom soles... and constantly changing them into every single shoe AND wearing shoes all the damn time.

Now I'm barefoot 90% of the time and do parkour (huge jumps and falls) in minimalist shoes and it's all fine. I still get plantar fasciitis the day after really big days, but I'm also not doing the strengthening exercises, so I'm fine with it.

The thing that really stuck with me was the functional and useful exercises... getting strong and able to help people in danger. I loved that so hard and haven't picked up a barbell since.

That's such an amazing quote! Bam! Dude! Amazing memory for the win!

Oh I haven't read Natural Born Heroes. I'll have to check it out.

Functional strength is bigtime important, rather than how much you can bench. And the idea of intentionally strengthening your feet rather than wearing shoes with as much padding as possible was initially mind blowing to me. Glad to see that others were just as clueless as I was ;)

The girl in the 1st picture is damn strong and cute.
'Beauty with strength', haha.
Followed you @aussieninja and upvoted the post too.

You attack your worthy foe, and throw:

a 6.

Your opponent rolls a 5.

You launch yourself at your worthy foe.

You throw a : 5.

Your opponent rolls a 5.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99