Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 13

Day 13

Way less of a weird day today, remembered all my junk and got down to business.

uwmc1m0gwe56hefbrd1c.jpg

Smashed out some tendonitis eccentric exercises at lunchtime.

After work I did a heap of pull-ups for my tendonitis strengthening exercises and really really struggled. Super sore, pretty tired. That said, instead of doing the 4 second L-shape chin-up holds.. I tried a 40 hold instead... I really surprised myself by getting to the full 40 seconds... subsequent reps though died... 30 seconds, 27 seconds, etc etc...

It was definitely a challenge and I think I'll try it at least once a week from now on.

I mentioned on Tuesday how weird it was to use the different angled pull-ups grips at the gym... I only noticed today that there is a full on pull-up bar at the back... SO MUCH BETTER!

20171214_184501.jpg

Had this situation where I ate too much for lunch and just skipped dinner and went rock climbing instead... why do we have to eat so many times during the day anyway? So many better uses for my time.

Have you guys seen these auto-belays? So crazy cool for kids with no friends...

In the back room there was some grips to play on, and so I did the 6 reps that I didn't do as part of pull-up exercises.. barely got the 6... and tried for a 2nd set for fun... and died in the arms. Good way to burn out.

20171214_204629.jpg

Today's exercises

Tendonitis eccentric exercises

15 pounds on the cable machine; pulling it every which way for 15 reps each.

Tendonitis strengthening exercises
4 sets of 5 of the following:

6 reps of slow 4 second chin-ups
6 reps of slow 4 second pushups
6 reps of slow wrist extensions
40 seconds (then 30, etc) of a chin-up 90 degree hold
6 reps of slow 4 second tricep dips

Rock Climbing

A few 5.7 climbs, a couple of 5.8 climbs and one awesome 5.9 climb.

Injuries & sore spots

That spot where my neck, back and shoulder blades all meet was super sore today... not really sure what I did to cause it to flare up but it's quite uncomfortable.. hurt as soon as I woke up... it's fine after my workouts though.

My back was also still pretty sore from this week.

Goals for December

Get back on track to all my tendonitis exercises
Beat that last rung on the double salmon ladder
Get the 14 foot warped wall (I used to do it easily but my technique was "cheating" so now I'm trying to do it properly but haven't got it yet).

Image provided by Google Image Search of 'American Ninja Warrior' and my own phone

Sort:  

Congrats on making the 40 seconds! That's really amazing :)

Thanks! It's the longest 40 seconds ever... but I was so chuffed with myself!

I believe it, but it will be worth it soon ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by theadz4000 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01