Aloe Vera re-planting and researching how to care for this type of plant.

in #aloe5 years ago (edited)

Today I dug out all our plant pots from storage. They haven’t seen daylight since two years when we moved. Most of them were standing in the windows at my company with plastic flowers in them. I was not interested in gardening at all back then.

Now I have been contemplating re-planting my aloe Vera plant because it has for the second time grown out of its pot. So I researched a little more what type of soil etc it would like the best. Apparently an aloe vera is a Succulent and there is special soil for this type of plants. Also it seems good to put hydrograins in the bottom of a clay pot with holes in the bottom.

Mistakes I’ve done with my aloe vera that doesn’t seem to have hurt it yet luckily.

  1. Watering too much during the winter time! It could get water only twice a month and feel fine. But watering too much in this ”rest period” can cause the roots to rot.

  2. Only planting my aloe vera in a pot with normal soil with no hydrograins or holes or anything. This way of planting in combination with point one will probably create problems if not fixed.

My plan for tomorrow is to replant the aloe vera, with hydrograins, and with special succulent soil on top of the hydrograins. The plant will apparently be very happy if I put some gravel in the soil to make the drainage even better in the pot.

So tomorrow I’ll share a picture of this project. If anyone sees any apparent problems with this plan please comment :)

My next project with this particular plant will be to take a slip from it and grow another one. But I have to actually get some slips from it and also be able to identify what they look like.

One step at a time.

I’m going for exponential growth with my gardening and this is what that curve looks like in the beginning :)

Have a nice day all Steemians!

Sort:  

Congratulations @aceofhearts! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aceofhearts! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82