D.Tube 0.5: Big Optimizations

in #dans6 years ago

22222.jpg

Things are moving really quick behind the scenes for DTube. I have been away from my work computer for almost two weeks (with SteemFest and stuff), so when I came back I realised the two other devs @hightouch and @superkoala had done a lot of work on their own. It's only been a month since 0.4 and I'm happy we can keep the pace in developing DTube into a stable project.

DTube is obviously a major player in the STEEM blockchain ecosystem, there is no denying that. I receive countless random thank you messages on both steemit.chat and Discord on a daily basis for my work on DTube. When I asked at my DTube presentation at SteemFest who knew about DTube, it looked to me like everyone in the room raised their hand. That's pretty rewarding. I am confident that this new version will be the most stable yet to use for everyone. Version 1.0 isn't so far away anymore as only a few items of my original roadmap are left.

Jussi
I woke up yesterday and DTube was broken. The steem node we were using in 0.4 had just died apparently. So we decided to patch a bit earlier to 0.5. DTube now uses Jussi just like steemit.com does. Every page will load faster in general :)

This is a great performance improvement for DTube, so thank you @steemitdev for putting Jussi into production recently succesfully!

New Upload
There is nothing that destroyed the DTube experience like waiting 30 minutes for your upload and receiving an error message. Ever since 0.1 I have received countless hate messages because of the bugged uploads. Even @dollarvigilante mentioned it during his SteemFest 2 speach. :facepalm:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64